Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide (17th Edition): Newspaper Articles

How Can I Tell if it's a Newspaper?

Newspaper sections spread out on a table, Image from flickr, user NS Newsflash

Photo from Flickr, created by user NS Newsflash. Available under a Creative Commons license.

Not sure whether your article is from a newspaper? Look for these characteristics:

  • Main purpose is to provide readers with a brief account of current events locally, nationally or internationally.
  • Can be published daily, semiweekly or weekly.
  • Articles are usually written by journalists who may or may not have subject expertise.
  • Written for the general public, readers don't need any previous subject knowledge.
  • Little, if any, information about other sources is provided.

Articles may also come from journals or magazines.

Newspaper Article From a Library Database

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication, https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication. https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Footnote Example 

1. Sarah Schmidt, "Companies Fail the Test: Junk Food Marketing Aimed at Kids Faulted," The Gazette (Montreal), March 10, 2010, Canadian Newsstand.

Shortened Footnote Example           2. Schmidt, "Companies Fail the Test."
Bibliography Entry Example             Schmidt, Sarah. "Companies Fail the Test: Junk Food Marketing Aimed at Kids Faulted." The Gazette (Montreal), March 10, 2010. Canadian Newsstand.

Newspaper Article From a Website

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication. URL.                                                                  

Footnote Example 

1. Malcolm Morrison, "TSX Recovers on Greece News," Toronto Star, June 23, 2011, www.thestar.com/business/economy/2011/06/23/tsx_recovers_on_greece_news.html.        

Shortened Footnote Example             2. Morrison, "TSX Recovers on Greece."            
Bibliography Entry Example Morrison, Malcolm. "TSX Recovers on Greece News." Toronto Star, June 23, 2011. www.thestar.com/business/economy/2011/06/23/tsx_recovers_on_greece_news.html.

Newspaper Article in Print

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication.   

Footnote Example              1. Bill Smith, "Talks on Bosnia Bog Down Over Borders," Toronto Star, August 18, 2012.
Shortened Footnote Example             2. Smith, "Talks on Bosnia."
Bibliography Entry Example Smith, Bill. "Talks on Bosnia Bog Down Over Borders." Toronto Star, August 18, 2012.        

Citing Source with Multiple Authors

Number of Authors Footnote Shortened Footnote Bibliography
Two Jane White and Brendan Holland White and Holland White, Jane, and Brendan Holland
Three Jane White, Brendan Holland, and Mary Marshall White, Holland, and Marshall White, Jane, Brendan Holland, and Mary Marshall
Four to Ten Jane White et al. White et al. White, Jane, Brendan Holland, Mary Marshall, and Stephen Wiley