Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide (17th Edition): Primary Sources

Art Object - Image from a Book

Footnote:

1. Creator's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork, Date of Creation, Other relevant information such as size or medium [if known], Location of Artwork, in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Creator's Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork, Date of Creation, Other relevant information such as size or medium [if relevant], Location of Artwork. In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name, Page Range of Chapter or Part. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1. Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, Intentional Fool, ca.1780, Alabaster, Life-size, in An Introduction to Nineteenth-Century Art, by Michelle Facos (New York: Routledge, 2011), 5.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Messerschmidt, Intentional Fool, 5.

Bibliography Entry Example

Messerschmidt, Franz Xaver. Intentional Fool, ca.1780, Alabaster, Life-size. In An Introduction to Nineteenth-Century Art, by Michelle Facos, 5, New York: Routledge, 2011), 5. New York: Routledge, 2011.

Art Object - Image from an Online Source

Footnote:

1. Creator's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork, Date of Creation, Other relevant information such as size or medium [if known], Location of Artwork, accessed Access Date, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Creator's Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork, Date of Creation, Other relevant information such as size or medium [if known], Location of Artwork. Accessed Access Date. URL.

Footnote Example

1. Sash with Flame Design, ca. 1800-1850, Wool, 304 x 18.5 cm, National Gallery of Canada, accessed June 2, 2021, https://www.gallery.ca/collection/artwork/sash-with-flame-design.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Sash with Flame.

Bibliography Entry Example

Sash with Flame Design, ca. 1800-1850, Wool, 304 x 18.5 cm, National Gallery of Canada. Accessed June 2, 2021, https://www.gallery.ca/collection/artwork/sash-with-flame-design.

 

Historical Map from a Book

Footnote:

1. Map Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Map, Scale [if given], in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Map Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Map. Scale [if given]. In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name, Page Range of Chapter or Part. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

 Maps may have corporate rather than individual authors (such as Centre for Topographic Mapping). In this case, you do not invert the name in the bibliography entry.

Footnote Example

1. John George Toler, A Sketch of the Province of Nova Scotia, in The Mapmaker's Legacy:Nineteenth-Century Nova Scotia Through Maps, by Joan Dawson (Halifax, NS: Nimbus Publishing, 2007), 2.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Toler, A Sketch, 2.

Bibliography Entry Example

Toler, John George. A Sketch of the Province of Nova Scotia. In The Mapmaker's Legacy:Nineteenth-Century Nova Scotia Through Maps, by Joan Dawson, 2. Halifax, NS: Nimbus Publishing, 2007.

Historical Map from a Journal Article

Footnote:

1. Map Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Map, Scale [if given], in "Title of Article," by Author's First Name Last Name, Name of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): Page Number of Exact Citation, https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Bibliography Entry:

Map Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Map. Scale [if given]. In "Title of Article," by Author's First Name Last Name. Name of Journal Volume Number, no. Issue Number (Date of Publication): First Page Number of Article-Last Page Number of Article. https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Footnote Example

1. John Mitchell, A Map of the British and French Dominions in North America with the Roads, Distances, Limits and Extent of the Settlements, Scale ca. 1:2,000,000, in "John Mitchell's Map of North America (1755): A Study of the Use and Publication of Official Maps in Eighteenth-Century Britain," by Matthew H. Edney, Imago Mundi 60, no. 1 (2008): 65, https://doi.org/10.1080/03085690701669327.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Mitchell, "British and French Dominions," 65.

Bibliography Entry Example

Mitchell, John. A Map of the British and French Dominions in North America with the Roads, Distances, Limits and Extent of the Settlements. Scale ca. 1:2,000,000. In "John Mitchell's Map of North America (1755): A Study of the Use and Publication of Official Maps in Eighteenth-Century Britain," by Matthew H. Edney. Imago Mundi 60, no.1 (2008): 63-85. https://doi.org/10.1080/03085690701669327.

Historical Map from an Online Collection

Footnote:

1. Map Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Map, Scale [if given], "Title of Website," Publication Date, accessed Access Date, URL. 

Bibliography Entry:

Map Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Map. Scale [if given]. "Title of Website." Publication Date. Accessed Access Date. URL.

Footnote Example

1. John H. Eddy, Map Of The Country Thirty Miles Round the City of New York, Scale 1:190,080, "David Rumsey Map Collection," 1811, accessed June 3, 2021, https://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~282~30102.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Eddy, "Map of the Country."

Bibliography Entry Example

Eddy, John H. Map Of The Country Thirty Miles Round the City of New York. Scale 1:190,080. "David Rumsey Map Collection." 1811. Accessed June 3, 2021,  https://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~282~30102.

Historical Newspaper Article from a Library Database

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication, https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication. https://doi.org/DOI Number or Name of Database.

Footnote Example

1. Arthur W. Dunn, "Commanded in Two Wars," Portland Oregonian, October 29, 1899, Gale Primary Sources.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Dunn, "Commanded in Two Wars."

Bibliography Entry Example

Dunn, Arthur W. "Commanded in Two Wars." Portland Oregonian, October 29, 1899. Gale Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper Article from a Website

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Newspaper (City and Province/State of Publication, if not Included in Name), Date of Publication. URL.

Footnote Example

1. "France Denies British Report from Silesia," The Washington Herald (Washington, DC), June 3, 1921, https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045433/1921-06-03/ed-1/seq-1/.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. "France Denies.'

Bibliography Entry Example

"France Denies British Report from Silesia." The Washington Herald (Washington, DC), June 3, 1921. https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045433/1921-06-03/ed-1/seq-1/.

Oral History from an Online Collection

Footnote: 

1. First name Last name of Person Being Interviewed (Identifying Information), interview by First name Last name of Interviewer, Date of Interview, Location where transcript or recording may be found, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Last name, First name of Person Being Interviewed. Interview year. (Identifying Information). Interview by First name Last name of Interviewer, Month and Day of Interview, Location where transcript or recording may be found. URL.

Footnote Example

1. Roy Isao Akune (Japanese Canadian), interview by Erik Sokugowa, August 24, 1983, Japanese Canadian Oral History Collection, https://digital.lib.sfu.ca/johc-326/interview-roy-isao-akune.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Akune, interview.

Bibliography Entry Example

Akune, Roy Isao. 1983. (Japanese Canadian). Interview by Erik Sokugowa, August 24, Japanese Canadian Oral History Collection. https://digital.lib.sfu.ca/johc-326/interview-roy-isao-akune.

Historical Letter from an Online Archive

Footnote:

1. Sender's First Name Last Name to First Name Last Name of Recipient, Date of Letter, Series Title [if provided], Name of Collection, Name of Archive, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Sender's Last name, First name. Title. Name of Collection. Name of Archive. URL. Date of Letter.

Footnote Example

1. Emily Adams to George Walter Adams, October 22, 1918, World War I Collections, The Canadian Letters & Images Project, https://www.canadianletters.ca/content/document-354?position=0&list=QI5QSobEoAwFgdKJ4NX73I_NfwbbUb5VuLG9FscIWPQ.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Adams, letter.

Bibliography Entry Example

Adams, Emily. Adams, George Walter Letter: 1918 October 22nd. World War I Collections. The Canadian Letters & Images Project. https://www.canadianletters.ca/content/document-354?position=0&list=QI5QSobEoAwFgdKJ4NX73I_NfwbbUb5VuLG9FscIWPQ. October 22, 1918.