Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide (17th Edition): Books, eBooks & Pamphlets

When a Book has an Edition

Some books have specific editions listed. Include the edition after the title of the book in both the footnote and the bibliography. You do not have to include the edition if it is the first edition. Shorten the word "edition" to "ed.".

Footnote Example:

1. Steven J. Kirsh, Children, Adolescents, and Media Violence: A Critical Look at the Research, 2nd ed. (Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2006), 22.

Bibliography Example:

Kirsh, Steven J. Children, Adolescents, and Media Violence: A Critical Look at the Research. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2006.

How Can I Tell if it's a Book in Print or an eBook?

A print book means it's printed on paper. If you checked the book out of a library or bought it from a bookstore, it's print.

An eBook is a book you can read entirely online or on an eReader.

Citing an eBook with no Page Numbers

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Example: 

1. Zadie Smith, On Beauty: A Novel (Toronto: Hamish Hamilton, 2017), chap. 3, Kindle.

Tips

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

If you are citing a chapter from a book that has an editor, the author of the chapter is listed first, and is the name listed in the in-text citation.

Publishers

You have the option to use the shortened name of the publisher. For example, you can use UP instead of University Press (e.g. Oxford UP instead of the full name Oxford University Press).

You also have the option to remove articles (A, An, The), business abbreviations (e.g. Co., Inc.) and descriptive words (e.g. Books, House, Press, Publishers). 

Titles

Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an. Do not use all-caps (except for words like USA where each letter stands for something), even if the words appear that way on the book or article.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

Books with Editors in Place of Authors

Some books have an editor or editors in place of an author. For editors, include the abbreviation ed. following the editor's name (or eds. for more than one editor). However, this abbreviation is not included in shortened footnotes.

Examples:

Henry Findell, ed. 

Findell, Henry, ed. 

Eric Small and Will Rhodes, eds. 

Small, Eric, and Will Rhodes, eds.

Citing a Part of a Book vs Citing the Whole Book

Citing Sources with Multiple Authors

Number of Authors Footnote Shortened Footnote Bibliography
Two Jane White and Brendan Holland White and Holland White, Jane, and Brendan Holland
Three Jane White, Brendan Holland, and Mary Marshall White, Holland, and Marshall White, Jane, Brendan Holland, and Mary Marshall
Four to Ten Jane White et al. White et al. White, Jane, Brendan Holland, Mary Marshall, and Stephen Wiley

Book in Print - One Author

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1. Gowri Vijayakumar, At Risk: Indian Sexual Politics and the Global AIDS Crisis (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2021), 22. 

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Vijayakumar, At Risk, 30. 

Bibliography Entry Example

Vijayakumar, Gowri. At Risk: Indian Sexual Politics and the Global AIDS Crisis. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2021. 

Book in Print - Two Authors

Footnote:

1. First Author's First Name Last Name and Second Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

First Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1. Maggie Wykes and Barrie Gunter, The Media and Body Image: If Looks Could Kill (Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2005), 128

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Wykes and Gunter, Media and Body Image, 132

Bibliography Entry Example

Wykes, Maggie, and Barrie Gunter. The Media and Body Image: If Looks Could Kill. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2005.

Book in Print - Three Authors

Footnote:

1. First Author's First Name Last Name and Second Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

First Author's Last Name, First Name, Second Author's First Name Last Name, and Third Author's First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1. Gerald R. Ledlow, Karl Manrodt, and David Schott, Health Care Supply Chain Management: Elements, Operations, and Strategies (Burlington: Jones & Bartlett Learning, 2017), 68.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Ledlow, Manrodt, and Schott, Health Care Supply Chain, 83.

Bibliography Entry Example

Ledlow, Gerald R., Karl Manrodt, and David Schott. Health Care Supply Chain Management: Elements, Operations, and Strategies. Burlington: Jones & Bartlett Learning, 2017.

Book in Print - Four or More Authors

Footnote:

1. First Author's First Name Last Name et al., Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

First Author's Last Name, First Name, Second Author's First Name Last Name, Third Author's First Name Last Name, and Fourth Author's First Name Last Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

 If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a footnote, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). 

Footnote Example

1. David M. Kroenke et al., Experiencing MIS, 5th Cdn ed. (North York, ON: Pearson Canada, 2019), 45. 

Shortened Footnote Example

2.  Kroenke et al., Experiencing MIS, 60.

Bibliography Entry Example

David M. Kroenke, Randall J Boyle, Andrew Gemino, and Peter Tingling. Experiencing MIS. 5th Cdn ed. North York, ON: Pearson Canada, 2019.

Book - Group or Corporate Author

Footnote:

1. Corporate Author, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Corporate Author. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

 If a publication issued by an organization has no personal author's name on the title page, list the organization itself as the author, even if it is also given as publisher.

Footnote Example

1. Modern Language Association, MLA Handbook, 8th ed. (New York: Modern Language Association, 2016), 32.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Modern Language Association, MLA Handbook, 37.

Bibliography Entry Example

Modern Language Association. MLA Handbook. 8th ed. New York: Modern Language Association, 2016.

eBook From a Library Database

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number, Name of Library Database.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. Name of Library Database.

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Footnote Example

1. Paul Waldau, Animal Rights: What Everyone Needs To Know (New York: Oxford University Press, 2010), 45, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Waldau, Animal Rights, 53.

Bibliography Entry Example

Waldau, Paul. Animal Rights: What Everyone Needs To Know. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

eBook From a Website

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. URL.

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Footnote Example

1. George Alfred Henty, The Cat of Bubastes: A Tale of Ancient Egypt (London: Blackie and Son, 1889), chap. 2, babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015073478847.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Henty, Cat of Bubastes, chap. 4.

Bibliography Entry Example

Henty, George Alfred. The Cat of Bubastes: A Tale of Ancient Egypt. London: Blackie and Son, 1889.  babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015073478847.

eBook from an eReader Platform

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number, Format of eBook.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Place of publication: Publisher, Year. Format of eBook.

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Footnote Example

1. Zadie Smith, On Beauty: A Novel (Toronto: Hamish Hamilton, 2017), chap. 3, Kindle.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Smith, On Beauty, chap. 4.

Bibliography Entry Example

Smith, Zadie. On Beauty: A Novel. Toronto: Hamish Hamilton, 2017. Kindle.

BCCampus Open Textbook (Free Online Textbook)

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition (Place of publication: BCCampus, Year), Chapter Number or PDF Page Number, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition. Place of publication: BCCampus, Year. URL.

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Footnote Example

1. Steve McCartney and Rick Parent, Ethics in Law Enforcement (Victoria, BC: BCcampus, 2015), http://opentextbc.ca/ethicsinlawenforcement/.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. McCartney and Parent, Ethics in Law Enforcement.

Bibliography Entry Example

McCartney, Steve, and Rick Parent. Ethics in Law Enforcement.Victoria, BC: BCcampus, 2015. http://opentextbc.ca/ethicsinlawenforcement/.

OpenStax Textbook (Free Online Textbook)

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition (Place of publication: OpenStax, Year), Chapter Number or PDF Page Number, URL.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition. Place of publication: OpenStax, Year. URL.

 To find the information needed for your citation select the option to view the book online, then scroll down and clicking on the Citation/Attribution link.

 If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the footnotes, if any (or simply omit).

Footnote Example

1. Heather Griffiths and Nathan Keirns, Introduction to Sociology 2e (Houston, TX: OpenStax, 2015), https://openstax.org/details/books/introduction-sociology-2e.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Griffiths and Keirns, Introduction to Sociology 2e.

Bibliography Entry Example

Griffiths, Heather, and Nathan Keirns. Introduction to Sociology 2e. Houston, TX: OpenStax, 2015. https://openstax.org/details/books/introduction-sociology-2e.

Course Reading from Moodle

Footnote

Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article or Book Chapter," in Course Name, uploaded by Instructor Name, upload date [if available] (Columbia College: Moodle, Semester and Year), Page Number [if available].

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article or Book Chapter." In Course Name, uploaded by Instructor Name, upload date [if available]. Columbia College: Moodle, Semester and Year.

Footnote Example

 

1. Sara Slinn, "Broader-Based and Sectoral Bargaining in Collective-Bargaining Law Reform: A Historical Review," in Sociology 230, uploaded by Stephanie Saikal, February 3, 2021 (Columbia College: Moodle, Winter 2021).

Shortened Footnote Example

 

2. Slinn, "Broader-Based."

Bibliography Entry Example

Slinn, Sara. "Broader-Based and Sectoral Bargaining in Collective-Bargaining Law Reform: A Historical Review." In Sociology 230, uploaded by Stephanie Saikal, February 3, 2021. Columbia College: Moodle, Winter 2021.

Chapter, Short Story, or Essay from an Edited Book

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter, Short Story, or Essay," in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, ed. Editor's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter, Short Story, or Essay." In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Page Range of Chapter or Part. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

  In a footnote, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.

Footnote Example

1. Colin Ross, "The Story of Grey Owl," in Fiction/Non-Fiction: A Reader and Rhetoric, 2nd ed., eds. Garry Engkent and Lucia Engkent (Toronto: Thomson Nelson, 2006), 328.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Ross, "The Story of Grey Owl," 332.

Bibliography Entry Example

Ross, Colin. "The Story of Grey Owl." In Fiction/Non-Fiction: A Reader and Rhetoric. 2nd ed, edited by Garry Engkent and Lucia Engkent, 327-333. Toronto: Thomson Nelson, 2006.

Short Story or Essay from a Book (Anthology or Collection of Author's Own Work)

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Chapter, Short Story, or Essay," in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter, Short Story, or Essay." In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, Page Range of Chapter or Part. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

  In a footnote, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.

Footnote Example

1. Angela Carter, "The Tiger's Bride," in Burning Your Boats: The Collected Stories (New York: Penguin, 1995), 155.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Carter, "Tiger's Bride," 157.

Bibliography Entry Example

Carter, Angela. "The Tiger's Bride." In Burning Your Boats: The Collected Stories, 154-69. New York: Penguin, 1995.

Article or Essay in an Authored Textbook

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article or Essay," in Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article or Essay." In Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition, by Textbook Author's First Name Last Name, Page Range of Chapter or Part. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

 Notice that authors' names appear in two parts of the citation. The first author's name listed is the author of the article or essay. The second is the author of the textbook.

 In a footnote, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.

Footnote Example

1. Gerald Graff, "Disliking Books," in Inquiry to Academic Writing: A Practical Guide, 2nd ed., by Stuart Greene and April Lidinsky (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2012), 22.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Graff, "Disliking Books," 25.

Bibliography Entry Example

Graff, Gerald. "Disliking Books." In Inquiry to Academic Writing: A Practical Guide. 2nd ed., by Stuart Greene and April Lidinsky. 22-26. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's, 2012. 

Book with Editor(s) but No Author

Footnote:

1. Editor's First Name Last Name, ed., Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, Edition if given and is not first edition (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Editor's Last Name, First Name, ed. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Edition if given and is not first edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1. Roger Matuz, ed., Contemporary Canadian Artists (Toronto: Gale Canada, 1997), 35.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Matuz, Contemporary Canadian Artists, 40.

Bibliography Entry Example

Matuz, Roger, ed. Contemporary Canadian Artists.Toronto: Gale Canada, 1997.

Translated Book in Print

Footnote:

1. Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book: Subtitle if Any, trans. Translator's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year), Page Number.

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle if Any. Translated by Translator's First Name Last Name. Place of publication: Publisher, Year.

Footnote Example

1.  Christophe Jaffrelot, Modi's India: Hindu Nationalism and the Rise of Ethnic Democracy, trans. Cynthia Schoch (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2021), 178. 

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Jaffrelot, Modi's India, 53. 

Bibliography Entry Example

Jaffrelot, Christophe. Modi's India: Hindu Nationalism and the Rise of Ethnic Democracy. Translated by Cynthia Schoch. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2021.