Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Guide (17th Edition): Class Handouts, Presentations, and Readings

Instructor's Presentation Slides (PowerPoint)

Footnote: 

1. Instructor's First Name Last Name, "Title of PowerPoint Presentation," (PowerPoint presentation for Course Name, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date of Presentation).

Bibliography Entry:

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of PowerPoint Presentation." PowerPoint presentation for Course Name at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date of Presentation.

Footnote Example

1. Paul Paulson, "Week 2: The Nature of Culture," (PowerPoint presentation for Anthropology 110, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, January 22, 2016).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Paulson, "Week 2."

Bibliography Entry Example

Paulson, Paul. "Week 2: The Nature of Culture." PowerPoint presentation for Anthropology 110 at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, January 22, 2016.

Class Lecture Heard in Person

Footnote: 

1. Instructor's First Name Last Name, "Title of Lecture," (class lecture for Course Name, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date of Lecture).

Bibliography Entry:

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Lecture." Class lecture for Course Name at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date of Lecture.

Footnote Example

1. Paul Paulson. "The Nature of Culture," (class lecture for Anthropology 110, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, January 15, 2016).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Paulson, "Nature of Culture."

Bibliography Entry Example

Paulson, Paul. "The Nature of Culture." Class lecture for Anthropology 110 at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, January 15, 2016.

Instructor's Notes or Handout Provided In Class

Footnote: 

1. Instructor's First Name Last Name, "Title of Handout/Notes," (course handout/notes for Course Name, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date Handout Received/Notes Taken).

Bibliography Entry:

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Handout/Notes." Course handout/notes for Course Name, received/taken at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, Date Handout Received/Notes Taken.

Footnote Example

1. Mark Kurtis, "Critical Analysis," (course handout for English 100, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, received May 5, 2016).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Kurtis, "Critical Analysis."

Bibliography Entry Example

Kurtis, Mark. "Critical Analysis." Course handout for English 100, received at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, May 5, 2016.

Article from Course Pack Prepared by Instructor

Footnote: 

1. Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," in course pack for Course Name, compiled by Instructor's First Name Last Name (Vancouver, BC: Columbia College, Semester and Year), Page Number [if available].

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." In course pack for Course Name, compiled by Instructor Name. Vancouver, BC: Columbia College, Semester and Year.

Footnote Example

1. Stephen Brown,  "Ethical Use of Language," in course pack for English 100, compiled by Dan Smith, (Vancouver, BC: Columbia College, Winter 2020), 20.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Brown, "Ethical Use," 21.

Bibliography Entry Example

Brown, Stephen. "Ethical Use of Language." In course pack for English 100, compiled by Dan Smith. Vancouver, BC: Columbia College, Winter 2020.

Instructor's Presentation Slides (PowerPoint) from Moodle

Footnote: 

1. Instructor's First Name Last Name, "Title of PowerPoint Presentation," (PowerPoint presentation for Course Name, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on Date of Upload).

Bibliography Entry:

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of PowerPoint Presentation." PowerPoint presentation for Course Name at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on Date of Upload.

Footnote Example

1. Paul Paulson, "Week 2: The Nature of Culture," (PowerPoint presentation for Anthropology 110, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on January 22, 2016).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Paulson, "Week 2."

Bibliography Entry Example

Paulson, Paul. "Week 2: The Nature of Culture." PowerPoint presentation for Anthropology 110 at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on January 22, 2016.

Course Reading from Moodle

Footnote

Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of Article or Book Chapter," in Course Name, uploaded by Instructor Name, upload date [if available] (Columbia College: Moodle, Semester and Year), Page Number [if available].

Bibliography Entry:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article or Book Chapter." In Course Name, uploaded by Instructor Name, upload date [if available]. Columbia College: Moodle, Semester and Year.

Footnote Example

 

1. Sara Slinn, "Broader-Based and Sectoral Bargaining in Collective-Bargaining Law Reform: A Historical Review," in Sociology 230, uploaded by Stephanie Saikal, February 3, 2021 (Columbia College: Moodle, Winter 2021).

Shortened Footnote Example

 

2. Slinn, "Broader-Based."

Bibliography Entry Example

Slinn, Sara. "Broader-Based and Sectoral Bargaining in Collective-Bargaining Law Reform: A Historical Review." In Sociology 230, uploaded by Stephanie Saikal, February 3, 2021. Columbia College: Moodle, Winter 2021.

Instructor's Handout from Moodle

Footnote: 

1. Instructor's First Name Last Name, "Title of Handout," (course handout for Course Name, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on Date of Upload).

Bibliography Entry:

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Handout." Course handout for Course Name at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on Date of Upload.

Footnote Example

1. Mark Kurtis, "Critical Analysis," (Course handout for for English 100, Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on May 5, 2016).

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Kurtis, "Critical Analysis"

Bibliography Entry Example

Kurtis, Mark. "Critical Analysis." Course handout for for English 100 at Columbia College, Vancouver, BC, uploaded to Moodle on May 5, 2016.