LibGuides: Mental Health and Wellness Resources: Need Help Now?

Are you having a mental health crisis?

Help is available! You can get free support 24/7: if you or someone you know is having thoughts of suicide, call 1-800-784-2433 (1-800-SUICIDE), call 911, or go to your local emergency room.

keep.meSAFE
keep.meSAFE provides Columbia College students with real-time and/or appointment-based confidential support in 60+ languages for any school, health, or general life concern at no cost. Get matched with a counsellor that speaks your language, is from your culture, or has a shared experience. keep.meSAFE is completely confidential within the limits of the law, so no one – including your family, friends, or instructors – will ever know you used the program unless you choose to tell them.

Get Help Now

Here2Talk
Connects any post-secondary student with free mental health support: 1-877-857-3397 or through the website. You have access to free, confidential counselling and community referral services, conveniently available 24/7 via app, phone and web.
Youth In BC
Free online chat crisis support from noon to 1AM, plus information and resources for youth.
YouthInBC.com is a program of the Crisis Centre of BC.
Crisis Centre BC
Mental Health Support Lines: 310-6789 (no area code) or 1-800-784-2433 (1-800-SUICIDE)
Connect to a free crisis line without a wait or busy signal, 24/7. Crisis line workers are there to listen and support you and refer you to community resources.
The Trevor Project
24/7 Lifeline: 1-866-488-7386
Crisis intervention and suicide prevention services for LGBTQ+ young people under 25. Website includes more resources for LGBTQ+ youth and allies, plus a blog and supportive online community.
Kids Help Phone
Professional counselling, information and referrals: 1-800-668-6868
Connect 24/7 by phone, text, mobile app or through the website. Plus informative articles, counselor Q&A, and tools to help manage your mental health.
Counselling BC
BC-based online directory to help find counselling, psychological services, art therapy, and psychotherapy.
Healing in Color
Directory of BIPOC therapists in Canada.

Columbia College Counsellors

Need to talk? Columbia College has a team of committed counsellors who can offer support and assistance, or connect you with other services such as specially trained mental health advisors.

Check it out! Student Services has excellent information on their Health and Wellness - Mental Health page. You'll find explanations of some common mental health challenges and information on what to do if you are experiencing some of these things yourself. There are also links for support services, helpful tools, and apps.

General information and resources

Here to Help
Explore strategies to help you take care of your mental health and substance use in healthier ways, and find the information you need to manage mental health and substance use problems. Info sheets, easy-to-read introductions to mental health, workbooks, Q&A, stories, self-screening tests, and support. From a partnership of BC's leading mental health and substance use non-profit agencies.
Foundry
"A one-stop-shop for young people to access mental health care, substance use services, primary care, social services and youth and family peer supports." Safe, non-judgmental care, information and resources.
Mood Disorders Association of BC
"A nonprofit organization that provides treatment, support, education, and hope of recovery for people living with a mood disorder." Includes a comprehensive list of online resource links and free or low-cost support services.
Canadian Mental Health Association - BC Division
A national charity that helps maintain and improve mental health for all Canadians. Provides Information on specific mental illnesses, tips on keeping your own mental health in balance, and resources to find help or support.
Starting A Conversation About Mental Health: Foundational Training for Students
This adaptable training resource covers foundational mental health and wellness information for post-secondary students and ways to respond to peers who are experiencing distress. It can be used for a two-to three-hour synchronous training session or for self-study.

Mental Health and Wellness Resources: Need Help Now?

Are you having a mental health crisis?

Get Help Now

Columbia College Counsellors

General information and resources

COVID-19 Support