Braiding Sweetgrass
As a botanist and professor of plant ecology, Robin Wall Kimmerer has spent a career learning how to ask questions of nature using the tools of science. As a Potawatomi woman, she learned from elders, family, and history that the Potawatomi, as well as a majority of other cultures indigenous to this land, consider plants and animals to be our oldest teachers. In Braiding Sweetgrass, Kimmerer brings these two lenses of knowing together to reveal what it means to see humans as "the younger brothers of creation."
The End of the World: Climate Justice in So-Called Canada
Drawing on their work in Indigenous activism, the labour movement, youth climate campaigns, community-engaged scholarship, and independent journalism, the six authors challenge toothless proposals and false solutions to show that a just transition from fossil fuels cannot succeed without the dismantling of settler capitalism in Canada.
Our Hearts are as One Fire
This work draws on Ojibway-, Ota'wa-, and Ishkodawatomi-Anishinabe world views, history, and lived experience to develop a wholly Ojibway-Anishinabe interpretation of the role of traditional leadership and governance today.
Our Long Struggle for Home
Most Canadians know only a tiny apart of the Ipperwash story - the 1995 police shooting of Dudley George. In Our Long Struggle for Home, George's sister, cousins, and others from the Stoney Point Reserve tell of broken promises and thwarted hopes in the decades-long battle to reclaim their ancestral homeland, both before and after the police action culminating in George's death.
Kinauvit? What's Your Name?
A revelatory look into an obscured piece of Canadian history: the Eskimo Identification Tag System. Not one government has taken responsibility or apologized for the E-number system to date -- a symbol of the blatant dehumanizing treatment of the smallest Indigenous population in Canada. Kinauvit provides a critical record and response to a significant piece of Canadian history, collecting years of research, interviews.
Standoff: Why Reconciliation Fails Indigenous People and How to Fix It
Faced with a constant stream of news reports of standoffs and confrontations, Canada's "reconciliation project" has obviously gone off the rails. In this series of concise and thoughtful essays, lawyer and historian Bruce McIvor explains why reconciliation with Indigenous peoples is failing and what needs to be done to fix it.
River of Salmon People
The River of the Salmon People captures what the Fraser River, and its most valuable resource, the salmon, means to First Nations communities along its basin. The result of nine community engagements, extensive research over two years, and illuminating photographs and artwork, this book captures the oral narratives of each community along the river.
Carrying the Burden of Peace : Reimagining Indigenous Masculinities Through Story
Carrying the Burden of Peace weaves together stories of Indigenous life, love, eroticism, pain, and joy to map the contours of diverse, empowered, and non-dominant Indigenous masculinities.
Challenging Racist British Columbia: 150 Years and Counting
This booklet dives into the long history of racist policies that have impacted Indigenous, Black and racialized communities in the province over the last 150 years since BC joined Canada. The illustrated booklet, co-published by the CCPA-BC Office, ties the histories of racism and resistance to present day anti-racist movements.
First in Canada: an Aboriginal Book of Days
Takes readers through one calendar year of Aboriginal history, providing visuals and details of past and contemporary achievements and challenges of First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples of Canada.
Arrows in a Quiver: Indigenous-Canadian Relations from Contact to the Courts
Provides an overview of Indigenous-settler relations, including how land is central to Indigenous identity and how the Canadian state marginalizes Indigenous people.
First Nations self-government : 17 roadblocks to self-determination, and one Chief's thoughts on solutions
Chief Wolf Collar identifies 17 roadblocks that currently hinder Indigenous Nations--including broken treaty promises, problems with common forms of band administration, and the intrusion of provincial governments--along with potential solutions to overcome them.
Indigenous Relations: Insights, Tips & Suggestions to Make Reconciliation a Reality
We are all treaty people. This eagerly awaited sequel to the bestselling 21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act offers practical tools that will help you respectfully avoid missteps in your business interactions and personal relationships with Indigenous Peoples.
Working with Elders & Indigenous Knowledge Systems
A practical, easy to follow, reader designed to provide both examples and suggestions so as to allow readers the ability to establish "a starting base from which they can develop their own ways of working with Elders.
Indigenous Nationhood: Empowering Grassroots Citizens
A collection of the best blogs from Indigenous Nationhood produced by well-known lawyer, activist and academic Pamela Palmater. Her blogs offer critical legal and political commentary and analysis on legislation, Aboriginal rights, Canadian politics, and First Nation politics and social issues like murdered and missing Indigenous women, poverty, economics, and identity and culture.
Highway of Tears: a True Story of Racism, Indifference and the Pursuit of Justice for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
An explosive examination of the missing and murdered Indigenous women of Highway 16, and a searing indictment of the society that failed them.
An Act of Genocide: Colonialism and the Sterilization of Aboriginal Women
Examines long-buried archival evidence documenting the forced sterilization of aboriginal women in Canada, linking this evidence to colonialism, the oppression of women, and the denial of indigenous sovereignty.
From Where I Stand: Rebuilding Indigenous Nations for a Stronger Canada
Drawn from speeches made over a ten-year period both at home and abroad, Jody Wilson-Raybould reveals why true reconciliation will occur only when Canada moves beyond denial, recognizes Indigenous Rights, and replaces the Indian Act.
Elements of Indigenous Style: a Guide for Writing by and About Indigenous Peoples
Provides guidelines to help writers, editors, and publishers produce material that reflects Indigenous people in an appropriate and respectful manner.
21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act
"Based on a viral article, 21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act is the essential guide to understanding the legal document and its repercussion on generations of Indigenous peoples, written by a leading cultural sensitivity trainer. The Indian Act, after 141 years, continues to shape, control, and constrain the lives and opportunities of Indigenous peoples, and is at the root of many lasting stereotypes." -- Provided by publisher.
Why Indigenous Literatures Matter
"It's about Indigenous literatures and underscores their significance to Indigenous peoples in the realm of the political, the creative, and the intellectual. It challenges readers to examine their assumptions about Indigenous literatures and at the same time asserts the emotional connections of our shared humanity and the transformative power of story."-- Provided by publisher.
Policing Indigenous Movements: Dissent and the Security State
"The book blends discussions of settler colonialism, policing and surveillance, with a detailed exposé of current security practices that targets Indigenous movements. Using the Access to Information Act, the book offers a unique view into the extensive networks of policing and security agencies." -- Provided by publisher.
Stories of Métis Women: Tales my Kookum Told Me
Often misunderstood, the Metis are an Indigenous People with a unique and proud history and Nation. This book celebrates Nation building, culture, identity and resilience.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada
Focusing on residential schools and Indigenous Peoples' historical relationship to the Canadian state, this is part of The Royal Canadian Geographical Society's four-volume atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples, and explores themes of language, demographics, economy, environment and culture.
From Oral to Written
A celebration of Indigenous literature in Canada from 1980-2010.
Haida Eagle Treasures: Traditional Stories and Memories from a Teacher of the Tsath Lanas Clan
Take a journey into the heart of Haida culture as it is lived and experienced by an extraordinary woman of the Tsath Lanas Eagle Clan. Pansy Collison, a Haida woman born and raised in Old Massett on Haida Gwaii, tells stories of her clan and community, as well as personal narratives about her history and family.
Surviving Canada
Through essays, art, and literature, Surviving Canada examines the struggle for Indigenous Peoples to celebrate their cultures and exercise their right to control their own economic development, lands, water, and lives. The Indian Act, Idle No More, and the legacy of residential schools are just a few of the topics covered by a wide range of elders, scholars, artists, and activists.
Métis
"Metis" has become an ever-widening racial category rather than the identity of an indigenous people with a shared sense of history and culture centred on the fur trade.Andersen asks all Canadians to consider the consequences of adopting a definition of "Metis" that makes it nearly impossible for the Metis nation to make political claims as a people.
The Medicine Wheel: Environmental Decision-Making Process of indigenous Peoples
The goal of this book is to lay the context for how to connect Western science and Indigenous knowledge frameworks to form a holistic and ethical decision-making process for the environment.
Wabanaki Modern
The “Micmac Indian Craftsmen” of Elsipogtog rose to national prominence in the early 1960s. At their peak, they were featured in print media from coast to coast. Primarily self-taught, deeply rooted in their community, and fluent Mi’kmaw speakers, they were among the first modern Indigenous artists in Atlantic Canada. They produced an eclectic range of handmade objects that were sophisticated, profound, and eloquent.
Indigenous Media Arts in Canada
This collection explores those issues with a focus on settler-Indigenous cultural politics in the country known as Canada, looking in particular at Indigenous representation in media arts.
Unsettling Native Art Histories on the Northwest Coast
This edited collection focuses on "unsettling" Northwest Coast art studies, bringing forward voices that uphold Indigenous priorities, engage with past and ongoing effects of settler colonialism, and advocate for practices for more accountable scholarship.
The Way Home
Drawing on memory, legend, and his own art, Neel recounts his struggle to reconnect with his culture and become an accomplished Kwakwaka’wakw artist.
Where the Power Is
Brings together contemporary Indigenous knowledge holders with extraordinary works of historical Northwest Coast art that transcend the category of “art” or “artifact” and embody distinct ways of knowing and being in the world.
Inconvenient Skin
While Canada's history is filled with darkness, this collection of poems aims to unpack that history to clean the wounds of the infection so the nation can finally heal.
Hearts of our People: Native Women Artists
Explores the artistic achievements of Native women and establishes their rightful place in the art world. This lavishly illustrated book, a companion to the landmark exhibition, includes works of art from antiquity to the present, made in a variety of media from textiles and beadwork to video and digital arts.
The Land We Are
Using visual, poetic, and theoretical language, the contributors approach reconciliation as a problematic narrative about Indigenous-settler relations, but also as a site where conversations about a just future must occur.
Beau Dick
Dick's appreciation for Kwakwaka'wakw heritage inspired him to become involved in ceremony and the Hamatsa society of his nation and it has both imbued his work with the long traditions of Kwakwaka'wakw culture and embedded it within them.
Dana Claxton
Known for her expansive multidisciplinary approach to art making Vancouver-based Dana Claxton, who is Hunkpapa Lakota (Sioux), has investigated notions of Indigenous identity, beauty, gender and the body, as well as broader social and political issues through a practice which encompasses photography, film, video and performance.
Charles Edenshaw
This is the first survey of the iconic figure in Northwest Coast art- Charles Edenshaw. Bringing together the largest number of works by Charles Edenshaw ever assembled, offering a rare opportunity to view his legacy. Working in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, he was an exceptional carver of wood, silver and argillite, imbuing traditional Haida design with an innovative and elegant personal style.
Susan Point: Spindle Whorl
A Survey of Point's entire career through more than a hundred artworks that take the spindle whorl as their starting point.
Seekers and Travellers
A celebration of contemporary northwest coast art, showcasing the works of thirty-six acclaimed artists of Canada and the U.S.
Susan Point: Works on Paper
This is the first book devoted exclusively to Susan Point's works on paper.
Mythic Beings
Mythic Beings presents an outstanding collection of 75 works - all in vivid colour - by 34 of the best First Nations artists working on the Northwest Coast today. The power of their art comes from its deep roots in an ancient culture that is rich in ceremonial and aesthetic traditions.
Sonny Assu
Through large-scale installation, sculpture, photography, printmaking, and painting, Sonny Assu merges the aesthetics of Indigenous iconography with a pop-art sensibility. This stunning retrospective spans over a decade of Assu's career, highlighting more than 120 full-color works, including several never-before-exhibited pieces.
Annie Pootoogook
Annie Pootoogook: Cutting Ice accompanies an exhibition organized by the McMichael Canadian Art Collection, the gallery of record for works on paper from Annie Pootoogook's Inuit community of Kinngait (Cape Dorset).
Alex Janvier
A canonical figure in Native American art history, Alex Janvier has maintained a 50-year artistic practice that fuses aboriginal traditions with modernist abstraction. This major retrospective monograph celebrates a lifetime of creativity and knowledge gained through the artist's love of the land, art and aboriginal culture.
SakKijâjuk
SakKijâjuk - "to be visible" in the Nunatsiavut dialect of Inuktitut - provides an opportunity for readers, collectors, art historians, and art aficionados from the South and the North will come into intimate contact with the distinctive, innovative, and always breathtaking work of the contemporary Inuit artists and craftspeople of Nunatsiavut.
Indians Playing Indian
Explores the appropriation, or misappropriation, of Native American cultural heritage for political and commercial ends, and the innovative ways in which indigenous artists in a range of media have responded to these developments.
Brian Jungen
Brian Jungen has been acclaimed for producing evocative work that transforms ubiquitous consumer items into inventive sculptural forms, often linking his First Nations heritage to issues of cultural identity and the global economy.
Carrying on Irregardless
Collected here are artworks that act as political weapons, bold challenges to stereotypes, and nods to the Trickster. They satirise, ridicule and play. And, above all, they make us laugh, and think, and laugh again. Accompanying the work are descriptions, quips and jokes from the artists themselves.
People Among the People
Susan Point's unique artworks have been credited with almost single-handedly reviving the traditional Coast Salish art style. Once nearly lost to the effects of colonization, the crescents, wedges, and human and animal forms characteristic of the art of First Nations peoples living around the Salish Sea can now be seen around the world, reinvigorated with modern materials and techniques, in her serigraphs and public art installations--and in the works of a new generation of artists that she's inspired.
Tsqelmucwílc : The Kamloops Indian Residential School
In May 2021, the world was shocked by news of the detection of 215 unmarked graves on the grounds of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School in British Columbia, Canada. At these Christian-run, government-supported institutions, they were subjected to physical, mental, and sexual abuse while their Indigenous languages and traditions were stifled and denounced. Tsqelmucwílc is the story of those who survived the Kamloops Indian Residential School.
No Time to Say Goodbye
In this fictional account of residential schools, five children are taken by from their homes by government agents. They experience the pain of homesickness and confusion while trying to adjust to a completely different world, in which their language and cultural practices are forbidden. In spite of the harsh realities of residential school, the children find adventure in escape, challenge in competition, and camaraderie with fellow students.
Up Ghost River
Edmund Metatawabin tells the story of his years as a child in the 1950s in St. Anne's, one of Canada's worst residential schools, and the healing he found from his alcoholism and PTSD through his reconnection with his Cree culture.
Residential Schools
Discusses the history of residential schools, including why the government established them, how Indigenous children were treated, and the lasting impact on Indigenous cultures and traditions.
A Knock on the Door
It can start with a knock on the door one morning. It is the local Indian agent, or the parish priest, or, perhaps, a Mounted Police officer." So began the school experience of many Indigenous children in Canada for more than a hundred years, and so begins the history of residential schools prepared by the Truth & Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC).
They Called Me Number One
Tells of three generations of women who attended St. Joseph's Mission, interweaving the personal histories of her grandmother and her mother with her own.
Righting Canada's Wrongs - Residential Schools
Canada's residential school system for aboriginal young people is now recognized as a grievous historic wrong committed against First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples. This book documents this subject in a format that will give all young people access to this painful part of Canadian history.
This Benevolent Experiment
This Benevolent Experiment offers a multilayered, comparative analysis of Indigenous boarding schools in the United States and Canada.
The Circle Game
Argues that existing accounts of Residential School experiences in various Canadian and Aboriginal media systematically obscure and misinform about the facts and their interpretation.
Truth and Indignation
Truth and Indignation offers a close and critical assessment of a Truth and Reconciliation Commission as it is unfolding.
Unsettling the Settler Within
Unsettling the Settler Within argues that non-Aboriginal Canadians must undergo their own process of decolonization in order to truly participate in the transformative possibilities of reconciliation. Settlers must relinquish the persistent myth of themselves as peacemakers and acknowledge the destructive legacy of a society that has stubbornly ignored and devalued Indigenous experience.
Shingwauk's Vision
Starting with the foundations of residential schooling in seventeenth-century New France, Miller traces the modern version of the institution that was created in the 1880s, and, finally, describes the phasing-out of the schools in the 1960s.
Canada's Other Red Scare
Indigenous activism put small-town northern Ontario on the map in the 1960s and early 1970s. Kenora, Ontario, was home to a four-hundred-person march, popularly called'Canada's First Civil Rights March,'and a two-month-long armed occupation of a small lakefront park.
Intimate Integration
Privileging Indigenous voices and experiences, Intimate Integration documents the rise and fall of North American transracial adoption projects, including the Adopt Indian and Métis Project and the Indian Adoption Project.
Unbroken: My Fight for Survival, Hope, and Justice for Indigenous Women and Girls
Sterritt shares her memoir alongside investigative reporting into cases of missing and murdered Indigenous women in Canada, showing how colonialism and racism led to a society where Sterritt struggled to survive as a young person, and where the lives of Indigenous women and girls are ignored and devalued.
Half-Bads in White Regalia
A memoir about a tumultuous childhood and breaking the cycle of intergenerational trauma.
Fatty Legs (10th Anniversary Edition)
The story of an Inuvialuk girl standing up to the bullies of residential school in the far North.
Unreconciled
Part memoir and part manifesto, Unreconciled is a stirring call to arms to put truth over the flawed concept of reconciliation, and to build a new, respectful relationship between the nation of Canada and Indigenous peoples.
What Was Said to Me: The Life of Sti'tum'atul'wut, a Cowichan Woman
This first-person oral history documents a period of profound social change through the lens of Sti'tum'atul'wut--also known as Mrs. Ruby Peter--a Cowichan elder who made it her life's work to share and safeguard the ancient language of her people: Hul'q'umi'num'.
The Shoe Boy
A contemplative, honest, and unexpected coming-of-age memoir set in the context of the Cree struggle to protect their way of life, after massive hydro-electric projects forever altered the landscape they know as Eeyou Istchee.
Northern Wildflower
Catherine Lafferty tells her story of being a Dene woman growing up in a small northern Canadian mining town and her struggles with discrimination, poverty, addiction, love and loss.
In My Own Moccasins: a Memoir of Resilience
An unflinching account of addiction, intergenerational trauma, and the wounds brought on by sexual violence. It is also the story of sisterhood, the power of ceremony, the love of family, and the possibility of redemption.
Halfbreed
A new, fully restored edition of the essential Canadian classic. An unflinchingly honest memoir of her experience as a Métis woman in Canada, Maria Campbell's Halfbreed depicts the realities that she endured and, above all, overcame.
From the Ashes: my Story of Being Metis, Homeless, and Finding my Way
A remarkable memoir about hope and resilience, and a revelatory look into the life of a Métis-Cree man who refused to give up.
Injichaag: My Soul in Story
This book shares the life story of Anishinaabe artist Rene Meshake in stories, poetry, and Anishinaabemowin "word bundles" that serve as a dictionary of Ojibwe poetics.
Sugar Falls: A Residential School Story
Abandoned as a young child, Betsy is adopted into a loving family. A few short years later, at the age of 8, everything changes. Betsy is taken away to a residential school.
The 500 Years of Indigenous Resistance Comic Book
An illustrated history of Indigenous activism and resistance in the Americas over the previous 500 years, from contact to present day.
7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga
An epic story that follows one Indigenous family over three centuries and seven generations.
Red: A Haida Manga
The powerful story of Red, an orphaned leader so blinded by revenge that he leads his community to the brink of war and destruction.
Four Faces of the Moon
On a journey to uncover her family’s story, Spotted Fawn travels through time and space to reclaim connection to ancestors, language, and the land.
I Will See You Again
When the author learns of the death of her brother overseas, she embarks on a journey to bring him home. Through memories and dreams of all they shared together, she follows Dene teachings to find comfort and strength.
The Spirit of Denendeh: A Blanket of Butterflies
Explores the journey of Shinobu, a mysterious stranger who visits Fort Smith, NWT, to retrieve his family's samurai suit of armor and sword from the local museum. When he discovers that his grandfather's sword has been lost in a poker game to the man they call 'Benny the Bank,' he sets out to retrieve it with the help of a young boy, Sonny, and his grandmother.
The Woman in the Woods
Loup Garrou, trickster rabbits, and spirits with names that can't be spoken--the plains and forests of North America are alive with characters like these, all waiting to meet you in this collection of folklore retold in comics!
Come Home, Indio
Between the Ho-Chunk community of his Native American family in Wisconsin and his schoolmates in the Chicago suburbs, Terry tries in vain to fit in. Terry shares with the reader the process by which he finds hope and gets sober, as well as the powerful experience of finding something to believe in.
Borders
On a trip to visit his older sister, who moved away from the family home to Salt Lake City, a young boy and his mother are posed a simple question with a not so simple answer. And when border guards will not accept their citizenship, mother and son wind up trapped in an all-too-real limbo between nations that do not recognize who they are.
Breakdown
Cole and Eva arrive in Winnipeg, the headquarters of Mihko Laboratories, intent on destroying the company once and for all. Their plans are thwarted when a new threat surfaces, and Cole is mired in terrifying visions. Are these visions just troubled dreams or are they leading him to a terrifying truth?
How I Survived: Four Nights on the Ice
After his snowmobile breaks down halfway across the sea ice on a trip back from a fishing camp, Serapio Ittusardjuat recounts the traditional skills and knowledge he leaned on to stay alive.
Dakwakada Warriors
A comic about two Earth Protectors saving the Earth from evil pioneers and cyborg sasquatches translated into the two dialects of Southern Tutchone.
Nunavik
Part memoir and part documentary, Nunavik follows Hellman on a trek through Northern Quebec as he travels to Kuujjuaq, Puvirnituk, Kangiqsujuaq and Kangirsurk, meeting members of the First Nations, activists, hunters and drug dealers along the way.
The Whale Child
Shiny is a whale child. Over time his mother teaches him about the harm facing the world's oceans because of human carelessness. Shiny agrees to be turned into a boy by the ocean's water spirit so he can visit the land and alert people to these dangers.
Birdsong
A powerful story that highlights the fulfillment of intergenerational relationships and shared passions between a little girl and the elderly woman who lives next door.
I Will See You Again
When the author learns of the death of her brother overseas, she embarks on a journey to bring him home. Through memories and dreams of all they shared together, she follows Dene teachings to find comfort and strength.
The Orange Shirt Story
When Phyllis Webstad (nee Jack) turned six, she went to the residential school for the first time. On her first day at school, she wore a shiny orange shirt that her Granny had bought for her, but when she got to the school, it was taken away from her and never returned.
If I Go Missing
A powerfully illustrated graphic novel for teens about the subject of missing and murdered Indigenous people. Combining graphic fiction and non-fiction, this young adult graphic novel serves as a window into one of the unique dangers of being an Indigenous teen in Canada today.
Carpe Fin
The ragged edges of the temperate rainforest reach far out onto an island in the western seas. It is a place where one chooses to go ahead or turn back…
I Am Not a Number
A picture book based on a true story about a young First Nations girl who was sent to a residential school.
This Place
Explore the past 150 years through the eyes of Indigenous creators in this groundbreaking graphic novel anthology.
Sugar Falls
A school assignment to interview a residential school survivor leads Daniel to Betsy, his friend's grandmother, who tells him her story.
Pemmican Wars
Echo Desjardins, a 13 year-old Métis girl, is struggling with her feelings of loneliness while attending a new school and living with a new foster family. Then an ordinary day in Mr. Bee's history class turns extraordinary and Echo's life will never be the same. During Mr. Bee's lecture, Echo finds herself transported to another time and place--a bison hunt on the Saskatchewan prairie--and back again to the present.
Three Feathers
Explores the power and grace of restorative justice in one Northern community and the cultural legacy that can empower future generations.
Sovereign Traces
Merging works of contemporary North American Indian literature with imaginative illustrations by U.S. and Canadian artists, readers will find works of graphic literature, uniquely including both poetry and fiction.
Surviving the City
Miikwan (Anishinaabe) and Dez (Inninew) are best friends. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up Indigenous in the city - they're so close, they even completed their Berry Fast together. When Dez's grandmother becomes too sick, Dez can't stay with her anymore. With the threat of a group home looming, Dez can't bring herself to go home and disappears. Miikwan is devestated, and the wound of her missing mother resurfaces. Will Dez's community find her before it's too late? Will Miikwan be able to cope if they can't?
Louis Riel
The story of the charismatic, and perhaps mad, nineteenth century Métis leader, whose struggle to win rights for his people led to violent rebellion on the nation's western frontier.
Will I See?
May, a young teenage girl, traverses the city streets, finding keepsakes in different places along her journey. When May and her kookum make these keepsakes into a necklace, it opens a world of danger and fantasy. While May fights against a terrible reality, she learns that there is strength in the spirit of those that have passed. But will that strength be able to save her?
The Outside Circle
Pete, a young Aboriginal gang member, is sent to jail for killing his mother's boyfriend during a fight. While there, he realizes that he has become a negative influence on his younger brother and decides to turn his life around with the help of traditional Aboriginal healing circles and ceremonies.
Red
Red is the prideful leader of a small village in the islands off the northwest coast of British Columbia. His sister was abducted years ago by a band of raiders. When news comes that she has been spotted in a nearby village, Red sets out to rescue his sister and exact revenge on her captors.
7 Generations
7 Generations explores the life of Stone, a young Cree warrior, the smallpox epidemic of 1870, the residential school system of the 20th century and its familial legacy.
Betty
Helen Betty Osborne, known as Betty to her closest friends and family, dreamed of becoming a teacher. She left home to attend residential school and later moved to The Pas, Manitoba, to attend high school. On November 13, 1971, Betty was abducted and brutally murdered by four young men. Initially met with silence and indifference, her tragic murder resonates loudly today. Betty represents one of almost 1,200 Indigenous women in Canada who have been murdered or gone missing. This is her story.
Four Faces of the Moon
On a journey to uncover her family’s story, Spotted Fawn travels through time and space to reclaim connection to ancestors, language, and the land.
Red Power
Shelley and Billy join a group of young native activists in the battle against the huge corporate mining interest to protect their lands and culture. The story of the fight for land rights is combined with imagery of native spirits and gods and the history of the first contacts between the European explorers and the indigenous peoples.
Moonshot
This Indigenous comics collection brings together dozens of creators from North America to contribute comic book stories showcasing the rich heritage and identity of indigenous storytelling.
La Voz De M.A.Y.O.
This graphic novel is based on the oral history of Ramon Jaurigue, an orphan and WWII veteran who co-founded the Mexican, American, Yaqui, and Others (M.A.Y.O.) organization, which successfully lobbied the Tucson City Council to improve living and working conditions for members of the Pascua Yaqui tribe.