Combining contemporary articles with historical documents, this engaging reader examines the rich history of Canada's Aboriginal peoples through a thematic lens.
The Acadian Diaspora presents the eighteenth-century Atlantic world from a new angle, challenging old assumptions about uprooted peoples and the very nature of early modern empire.
This study focuses on one group of English immigrants sent to Upper Canada from Sussex and other southern counties with the aid of parishes and landlords.
Atlantic Canada: A History reflects on the region's diversity and provides students with a concise and up-to-date history of the east coast of Canada. This edition includes new coverage of Atlantic Canada up to 2014, allowing readers to make connections between the past and present and reflect on the region's diversity and future.
Provides an overview of the histories of the societies which made up the Atlantic Provinces.
Canada's First Nations uses an interdisciplinary approach--drawing on research in archaeology, anthropology, biology, sociology, political science, and history--to give an account of Canada's past.
A historical overview of the economic conditions and commerce of Canada.
Beginning in Canada's deep past with the arrival of its Aboriginal peoples, she traces its history through the conquest by Europeans, the American Revolutionary War and the industrialization of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries to its prosperous present.
Helps students understand how events developed over time and includes the contribution of all who shaped Canada, including Aboriginals, immigrants, women, and minority groups.
Jean Barman rewrites the history of the Pacific Northwest from the perspective of the French Canadians involved in the fur economy, the Indigenous women whose presence in their lives encouraged them to stay, and their descendants.
This book presents several histories in one: social history through the clash between colonial and aboriginal cultures; economic history in the development of the West as a result of Eastern colonial and European needs; and transportation history in the case of the displacement of the canoe by the York boat.
Unlike most missionary scholarship that focuses on male missionaries, Good Intentions Gone Awry chronicles the experiences of a missionary wife. It presents the letters of Emma Crosby, wife of the well-known Methodist missionary Thomas Crosby, who came to Fort Simpson, near present-day Prince Rupert, in 1874 to set up a mission among the Tsimshian people.
Includes fourteen mini-biographies of remarkable Canadian women.
Includes mini-biographies of remarkable Canadian women.
This pre-Confederation reader encourages students to explore Canada's history through authentic primary documents and critical academic articles.
To America's leaders in 1812, an invasion of Canada seemed to be "a mere matter of marching," as Thomas Jefferson confidently predicted. How could a nation of 8 million fail to subdue a struggling colony of 300,000? Yet, when the campaign of 1812 ended, the only Americans left on Canadian soil were prisoners of war. Three American armies had been forced to surrender, and the British were in control of all of Michigan Territory and much of Indiana and Ohio.
King's Men is the story of the Loyalist regiments who became the soldier founders of the Province of Ontario, the Loyal Colonials who joined the Provincial Corps of the British Army, Canadian Command, during the American revolution.
Lively, compact, and highly readable, this bestselling history offers a fascinating overview of the Canadian landscape and its people.
In 1783 and 1784, some fifty thousand Americans felt that they could not support the revolution against Britain. They were called Loyalists – and there would be no place for them in the new United States.
From the shrewd tactics of Canada’s First Nations to our troubled involvement in Somalia, from the Plains of Abraham to the deserts of Afghanistan, this book examines our centuries-old relationship to war and its consequences.
Before it was known as Nova Scotia, the province formed part of Mi’kma’ki and then of Acadie. This book provides a concise history of the province to the beginning of the 21st century.
The patterns and course of contact between traders from Europe and the Indian populations are described and both English and French sources are used to reveal the competition between the two groups of traders and its impact on the native people.
A survey of Canadian social, cultural, political, and economic history in the years before Confederation.
Morton presents the history of Canada as an absorbing narrative; he reflects on how the past informs the present by linking historical events to contemporary issues.
This sweeping study surveys nearly a century of diverse American views on the relationship between the United States and the Canadian provinces, filling out a neglected chapter in the history of aggressive U.S. expansionism.
In the late 1770s, the fertile land of what would become Upper Canada was sparsely settled. As some forty thousand British Loyalists left revolutionary America and moved north and west, many came to this region, bringing with them a wide range of expectations, knowledge, and skills - not to mention a new range of problems.
This comprehensive and authoritative history of the War of 1812.
The War of 1812 viewed from Canada.
Tragedy and farce, bravery and cowardice, intelligence and foolishness, sense and nonsense - all these contradictions and more have characterized the War of 1812. The real significance of the series of skirmishes that collectively made up the war between 1812 and 1814 is the enormous impact they have had on Canadian and American views of themselves and of each other.
Your Country, My Country takes readers back to the seventeenth century, when a shared British colonial heritage set the two lands on paths that would remain intertwined to the present day. Tracing Canadian-American relations, shared values, and differences through the centuries, Bothwell suggests that Americans are neither unique nor exceptional, in terms of both their good characteristics and their bad ones.