Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are background sources?
Background sources are sources that provide you with information such as key facts, subject overviews, and definitions. They are a great starting point for your research. Encyclopedias are an example of a background source.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada
"In this atlas, you will find outstanding reference maps of Indigenous Canada, as well as a section devoted to Truth and Reconciliation, including detailed pages on many aspects of the topic with contemporary and historical photography, maps and more."
The Canadian Encyclopedia
The Canadian Encyclopedia provides accurate, updated information about Canada's people and our country.
Britannica Online Academic
Find entries on important people, country information, events and more.
World Book Online
Provides access to the World Book Encyclopedia, which includes entries about the people of Canada, historic persons and events.
Contains the Encyclopedia of British Columbia
Canadian Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Fact Books
BC Treaty Map
This interactive map is provided by the BC Treaty Commission. It includes the First Nations that are participating in, or have completed treaties through, the BC treaty negotiations process. It is not an exhaustive list of all First Nations in BC.
Native Land Digital
Native Land Digital is a Canadian not-for-profit organization that is Indigenous-led, with an Indigenous Board of Directors. This map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations, and is considered a work in progress with contributions from the community.
Historical Atlas of Canada by
Call Number: RF 911.71 HIS
Publication Date: 1987-09-01
A uniquely beautiful record of Canada's early development, this volume of the Historical Atlas of Canada explores the relationship between what is now Canada and its people, from the earliest evidence of human habitation to the beginning of the nineteenth century.