It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 220 (Renaissance Art in Europe) Course Guide: Home
This guide is intended to help students in ART 220 find resources for their research.
Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, and supported by illustrations including color plates, the author explores the truly original and diverse character of the art of the Renaissance.
Viewing Renaissance Art
Location: 4 Day Reserve
This book focuses on the values, priorities, and motives of patrons and the purposes and functions of art works produced north and south of the Alps and in post-Byzantine Crete.
Renaissance art : a very short introduction
Location: 709.024 JOH 2005
Botticelli, Holbein, Leonardo, Dürer, Michelangelo: the names are familiar, as are the works, such as the Last Supper fresco, or the monumental marble statue of David. But who were these artists, why did they produce such memorable images, and how would their original beholders have viewed these objects?
A New History of Italian Renaissance Art
Location: 4 Day Reserves
The authors recount the history of Italian Renaissance art in the form of a decade-by-decade survey, one that highlights the achievements of the period’s great artists while also drawing connections between works produced in different places.
Italian Renaissance Art Location: 709.45 ADA 2014
Now thoroughly revised and updated throughout, featuring extended discussions of Mannerism and the expanding role of women in the visual arts and significant illustration program enhancements, Italian Renaissance Art is a readable, student-friendly, lavishly-illustrated introduction to one of the greatest periods of artistic genius in western history.
History of Italian Renaissance Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture Location: 709.45 HAR 1994
A broad survey of art and architecture in Italy between c. 1250 and 1600, this book approaches the works from the point of view of the artist as individual creator and as an expression of the city within which the artist was working.
Northern Renaissance Art Location: 4 day Reserves
This book offers a wide-ranging introduction to the way that art was made, valued, and viewed in northern Europe in the age of the Renaissance, from the late fourteenth to the early years of the sixteenth century.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. It is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts, and includes links to art images from private galleries and museums around the world, many of which are not readily available on public websites.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journals, full-text periodicals, reports, videos, and more. One of the most comprehensive or all-inclusive databases, containing the broadest range of subjects.
The largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.