Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this guide
The following guide provides you with books, ebooks, and online resources to help you get started with your research. For additional help finding sources, ask a librarian!
Canadian History: Post-Confederation by
Publication Date: 2016
This incredibly detailed book provides a survey of Canadian history after 1867. It includes key terms and is a great book to use to help you study!
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database provides access to Canadian academic journals, newspapers, magazines and reports on topics ranging from business, current events, public policy, health, culture, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primary sources and eBooks in a wide range of subject areas, including history.
The Canadian Encyclopedia
This accurate, well-researched source will help you find background information, images of people, and historical maps.
KnowBC This link opens in a new window
KnowBC is the online edition of the Encyclopedia of British Columbia and provides access to 4,000 articles on BC places, historic photographs, statistics, maps, charts, diagrams, as well as interactive sound and video clips. The KnowBC portal recently added numerous other BC-related encyclopedias and resources to its collection, including, The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names, Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest, Far West: the Story of British Columbia and more.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada
"In this atlas, you will find outstanding reference maps of Indigenous Canada, as well as a section devoted to Truth and Reconciliation, including detailed pages on many aspects of the topic with contemporary and historical photography, maps and more."