It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 230 (19th Century Art in Europe) Course Guide: Find Articles
This guide is intended to help students in ART 230 find resources for their research.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. It is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts, and includes links to art images from private galleries and museums around the world.
The largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
An authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press developed this innovative site to provide greater access to and discoverability of recent, key backlist, and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
Remember that you will need to use keywords, not full sentences, when searching the databases
Start out simple. Search using one of the main concepts (keywords) you identified
Use quotation marksto search for an exact phrase, but do not put quotation marks around your entire search.
If you get too few results, use OR to broaden your search and to include related keywords. These could be broader, narrower, related terms or synonyms
If you still get too few results, try searching in a different database
If you get too many results, you will need to add in keywords representing your second concept using AND to narrow your search.
Video: What is a database?
Has your instructor told you to use the library's databases to find sources for your paper?
Our databases provide you with access to thousands of articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
NEIU Ronald Williams Library. (2013, Sep 17). What are the library databases and which one should I use? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/fgwloQ5b0xw
Video: Academic Search Complete
Watch the video below to learn how to search Academic Search Complete.
University of British Columbia. (2015, July 15). Academic Search Complete. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEdCwq9H0LM.