It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 230 (19th Century Art in Europe) Course Guide: Home
This guide is intended to help students in ART 230 find resources for their research.
Daringly using colour and rapid brushstrokes, the Impressionists worked out of doors, creating paintings that captured the transient effects of light and feeling. This book traces Impressionism's origins to its spread to America and Australia.
Women in the Arts in the Belle Epoque: essays on influential artists, writers, and performers
Location: 700.82 WOM 2012
Explores the careers and creative lives of women involved in composition through oratory to fine art and film directing, revealing women's true impact on the arts at the turn of the 19th century.
Ways of Pointillism: Seurat, Signac, Van Gogh
Location: 759.055 WAY 2016
In their paintings between 1886 and 1930 their dots, colour and light assumed an independent existence to create masterpieces of unprecedented brightness and colour diversity.
The Symbolist Roots of Modern Art
Location: 709.04 SYM 2017
Rejecting what they perceived as the superficial descriptive quality of Impressionism, Naturalism, and Realism, Symbolist artists delved beneath the surface to express feelings, ideas, scientific processes, and universal truths.
Art in an Age of Counterrevolution, 1815-1848
Location: 701.03 BOI 2004 v.3
Drawing on visual media and popular imagery of the time, this generously illustrated work examines the art of Romanticism as a reaction to the social and political events surrounding it.
Nineteenth-Century Art: a Beginner's Guide
Location: 709.034 SCH 2014
The 19th-century gave us a wealth of artistic riches so memorable in their genius that we can picture many of them at an instant. However, at the time their avant-garde nature was the cause of much controversy.
Impressionism: Art, Leisure, and Parisian Society
Location: 759.4361 HER
This book fundamentally revises the conventional view of the Impressionist movement, and shows for the first time how it was fully integrated into the social and cultural life of the times.
Art in an Age of Civil Struggle, 1848-1871
This period, which gave rise to such luminaries as Karl Marx and Charles Darwin, was also characterized by civic upheaval, quantum leaps in science and technology, and the increasing secularization of intellectual pursuits and ordinary life.
Location: 759.4 RUB 2020
This book explores the cultural currents that helped to shape Monet's work: the utopian thought that gave rise to his politics; his interest in Japanese prints, gardening, and trends in the decorative arts; and his relationship with earlier French landscape painters as well as such contemporaries as Manet and Renoir.
The Painting of Modern Life: Paris in the art of Manet and his followers
Location: 758 CLA 1999
Describes the painting of Manet, Degas, Seurat, and others as an attempt to give form to that modernity and seek out its typical representatives--be they bar-maids, boaters, prostitutes, sightseers, or petits bourgeois lunching on the grass.
Impressionism: the art of landscape
709.0344 IMP 2017
Poised on the brink of the Modern Era, the Impressionists documented the effects of industrialization on French landscapes. Amid these transitions, the artists used the landscape itself to advance their own explorations into the field of color theory.
Impressionism and the Modern Landscape
Location: 709.0344 RUB 2008
Demonstrates not only that the industrial and demographic revolutions of the nineteenth century had a profound impact on art, but also that Impressionism was the first art historical movement to embrace such changes.
Degas: the Artist's Mind
Location: 759.4 DEG REF
Essays on the intellectual power and originality of Degas's complex art, on his technical innovations, and on his contrasts with leading writers are illustrated by reproductions of selected paintings and drawings.
Fellow men: Fantin-Latour and the Problem of the Group in Nineteenth-Century French Painting
Focusing on the art of Henri Fantin-Latour and his colleagues, Fellow Men argues for the importance of the group as a defining subject of nineteenth-century French painting. This book offers new insights into how French painters understood the shifting boundaries of their social world, and reveals the fragile masculine bonds that made up the avant-garde.
Cézanne, Murder, and Modern Life
Location: 759.4 DOM 2013
Focusing on the early work of Paul Cezanne, the book offers a competing version for modern painting rooted in the evocation of emotive "expression," emblematized by scenes of murder, sexual violence, and anxious domesticity.
Modernity and Modernism: French painting in the nineteenth century
Location: 759.409 MOD 1993
focuses on aspects of Realism, Impressionism, and Post-Impressionism in Paris between 1848 and 1900.
Art and the French Commune : Imagining Paris After War and Revolution
In this bold exploration of the political forces that shaped Impressionism, Albert Boime proposes that at the heart of the modern is a "guilty secret"--The need of the dominant, mainly bourgeois, classes in Paris to expunge from historical memory the haunting nightmare of the Commune and its socialist ideology.
Location: 759.4 RUB 1997
The entire range of Courbet's work, from landscapes to erotic nudes.
Location: 759.2 TUR 2003
From humble beginnings as the son of a London barber, J.M.W Turner (1775-1851) came to dominate British landscape painting in the first half of the 19th century.
Location: 759.4 LEE 1999
Argues that David was the single most important European painter of the age, perfecting a style of dramatic and noble painting that matched exactly the contemporary desire for morally elevating images.
Location: 759.3 VAU 2004
Caspar David Friedrich (1774-1840) was the pre-eminent artist of the German Romantic movement of the early nineteenth century. The author analyses the mysterious landscapes paintings with gothic ruins and silhouetted figures to reveal how the artist was influenced by the philosophical ideas and political events of his time.
Van Gogh: an Appreciation of his Art
Location: 759.9492 VAN GRU 1994
Tracing the Dutch artist's development in Arles and Saint-Râemy in particular, this volume presents the work of a prolific career marked by a pioneering use of color and perspective.
Monet's Years at Giverny
Location: 759.4 MON
Specifically illustrating the works that Claude Monet painted at Giverny, a collection of his most beloved art includes eighty-one colorplates that include examples of the Haystacks, Poplars, Morning on the Seine, Japanese Footbridge, and Water Lilies series.
German Romantic Painting
The early 19th century was a period in German art in which painting played a significant part in the cultural resurgence commonly known as the Romantic Movement. This Movement and some of its chief exponents are examined against a background of German literature, philosophy and music.
Angels & Tomboys: Girlhood in Nineteenth-century American Art
Location: 704.942 CON 2012
Explores the myriad ways artists portrayed young girls, from the sentimental, innocent stereotype to the freespirited individual.
Art in the 19th Century
Location: 709.034 ART 2011
The nineteenth century was the era of Romanticism, when artists' creativity became more emotive and personal - a response to the conventions of the previous century. Early artists include Friedrich, Turner, Goya and Ingres with Impressionism considered the most important movement.
Realism in the Age of Impressionism: Painting and the Politics of Time
Young's highly original study situates later Realism for the first time within the larger social, political, and economic framework and argues for its centrality in understanding the development of modern art.
The largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. It is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts, and includes links to art images from private galleries and museums around the world, many of which are not readily available on public websites.
An authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press developed this innovative site to provide greater access to and discoverability of recent, key backlist, and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.