Tips:
Bosch
Location: 759.9492 DIX 2003
Hieronymus Bosch
Location: 759.9492 BOS BEC 1994
Pieter Bruegel and the Art of Laughter
Location: 759.9492 GIB 2006
Courbet
Location: 759.4 RUB 1997
David
Location: 795.4 LEE 1999
Dürer
Location: 759.3 SMI 2012
Friedrich
Location: 759.3 VAU 2004
Hogarth
Location: 759.2 HAL 2000
Monet and Impressionism
Location: 759.054 MON 1997
Monet's Years at Giverny
Location: 795.4 MON
Rembrandt
Location: 759.9492 BOC 2016
Rembrandt: the Painter Thinking
Location: 759.9492 VAN 2016
Rembrandt
Location: 759.9492 WES 2000
Rubens
Location: 759.9493 BEL 1998
Turner
Location: 759.2 TUR 2003
Vermeer
Location: 759.9492 FRA 2015
Vermeer
Location: 759.9492 WHE 1997
Van Gogh
Location: 759.9492 VAN GRU 1994
Andy Warhol 1928-1987
Andy Warhol is hailed as the most important proponent of the Pop art movement.
Futurism
Futurism, the brainchild in 1909 of Italian writer and cultural impresario F.T. Marinetti, was the defining avant-garde art movement of the early twentieth century.
Pop Art
Follows the development of Pop art to its rise in popularity as an art form that celebrated the glamour and hedonism of the newly commercialized Western world.
Postmodernism
An introduction to the intellectual movement known as Postmodernism and its impact on the visual arts.
Pop Art and the Origins of Post-Modernism
Examines the critical reception of Pop Art in America during the 1960s.
The American Century
Provides a compelling panorama of art in America in this century and presents a spectacular exploration of America's national identity as seen through the eyes of its artists.
Art of the 20th Century
Ranging across the full spectrum of disciplines available this readable and encyclopedic survey highlights relationships between works and movements of the 20th century.
100 Contemporary Artists
A comprehensive compendium of contemporary art at the beginning of the 21st century. This book brings together the most outstanding, influential artists of the time.
Art of the 20th Century
A vivid window into the collective psyche of the modern world's great artists.
A History of Roman Art
A wide-ranging survey of the subject from the founding of Rome to the rule of Rome's first Christian emperor, Constantine.
A History of Greek Art
Explores the rich historical, cultural, and social contexts of 3,000 years of Greek art, from the Bronze Age through the Hellenistic period.
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture
Includes thirty essays, in addition to the introduction, by an international team of leading senior scholars, who have played a critical role in shaping the field, and by younger scholars, who will express the perspectives of a newer generation.
Roman Art and Archaeology
Explores the art of ancient Rome in the context of political intrigue, military and religious ideologies, and intercultural interaction.
The Sculptures of the Parthenon
Provides a complete overview of current knowledge about the sculptures of the Parthenon and suggests new interpretations of the ancient temple's sculptural creations.
Gender and the Body in Greek and Roman Sculpture
An exploration of ancient art, gender and sexuality in antiquity.
Early Greek Portraiture
This book lends new insight into the origins of civic honorific portraits that emerged at the end of the fifth century BC in ancient Greece.
Islamic Art and Architecture
Embracing over a thousand years of history and an area stretching from the Atlantic to the borders of India and China, this is an unrivaled synthesis of the arts of Islamic civilization. This book traces the evolution of an extraordinary range of art forms, including architecture, calligraphy, book illumination, painting, ceramics, glassware, textiles, and metalwork.
Art of Islam
Multicultural and multi-ethnical, this polymorphic and highly spiritual art, in which all representation of Man and God were prohibited, developed canons and various motives of great decorative value.
Islamic Art and Architecture
Traces the development of Islamic art and architecture from the Umayyad dynasty to the present day. Readers will learn about the art of the Fatimids, Seljuqs, Mamluks, Mongols, Ottomans, Safavids, Mughals, and more.
Envisioning Islamic Art and Architecture : Essays in Honor of Renata Holod
A collection of studies on the portable arts, arts of the book, painting, photography, and architecture spanning the medieval and modern periods and across the historical Islamic lands.
Perspectives on early Islamic art in Jerusalem
Analyzes early Islamic monuments on the Haram al-Sharif, or the Temple Mount: the Dome of the Chain, and the capitals with figures of eagles in the Dome of the Rock.
Islamic Arts and Crafts: an Anthology
Explores numerous aspects of the crafts of the Middle East from the processing of raw materials to the manufacture of finished artefacts.
While the impact of the Persian style is undeniably reflected in most aspects of the art and architecture of Islamic Central Asia, this Perso-Central Asian connection was chiefly formed and articulated by the Euro-American movement of collecting and interpreting the art and material culture of the Persian Islamic world in modern times.
The Origins of Visual Culture in the Islamic World
Focusing on painting and architectural works such as the first Fatimid mosque in al-Mahdiyya, Tunisia.
The Formation of Islamic Art
The essays in this book seek to explore Islamic art through themes such as architecture, ornament, luxury art, and attitudes towards images.
History of Italian Renaissance Art
Provides an extended list of considered works and draws on the latest research to provide a thorough examination of the development of Italian Renaissance painting, sculpture, and architecture.
Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art
Includes over 1,000 illustrations from 400 years of European art, chronicling the art and development of mankind during the Middle Ages, the Italian Renaissance, the Later Renaissance, and Baroque eras
The Great Masters: Giotto, Botticelli, Leonardo, Raphael, Michelangelo, Titian
Includes biographies and gossip about each artist, as well as colour reproductions of their works.
Art in Renaissance Italy
Evelyn Welch shows how the traditional story of the Renaissance has altered in the light of recent findings, greatly enriching our understanding of the period and specifically the everyday lives of contemporary Italians.
Making Renaissance Art
This book explores key themes in the making of Renaissance painting, sculpture, architecture, and prints: the use of specific techniques and materials, theory and practice, change and continuity in artistic procedures, conventions and values.
Viewing Renaissance Art
This book focuses on the values, priorities, and motives of patrons and the purposes and functions of art works produced north and south of the Alps and in post-Byzantine Crete.
Italian Renaissance Art
A vibrant and engaging presentation of Renaissance art history that is supported by up-to-date scholarship and methodology.
Chinese Art
Dealing not only with architecture, sculpture, and painting, but also with bronze and ceramics, this text offers a complete panorama of Chinese arts and civilisation.
Art of India
Characterised by its elegance, splendor, and Persian and European influences, Mughal Art manifests itself equally well in architecture and painting as in decorative art.
Early Buddhist Art of China and Central Asia
Presenting new studies on the chronology and iconography of Buddhist art during the Western Ch'in (385-431 A.D.) in northwest China, including Ping-ling ssu and Mai-chi shan, this book addresses issues of dating, textual sources, the five-Buddhas, and relation with Gandhara.
Indian Painting From Cave Temples to the Colonial Period
This fascinating volume presents the art form for non-specialists, surveying the most notable styles and periods of Indian painting and offering an introduction to the legends and historic personalities that inspire its entertaining subjects.
Central Asian Art
A tour through Central Asia - Khirgizia, Tadjikistan, Turkmenia, and Uzbekistan - a cradle of Ancient civilisations and a repository of the Oriental arts inspired by Buddhism and Islam.
The History and Spirit of Chinese Art
Moves through the dynastic landmarks of Chinese artistic development with discussions of numerous art forms including paintings, architecture, dance and music, calligraphy, and literature.
From Stone to Paper: Architecture as History in the Late Mughal Empire
This book provides the first in-depth look at this crucial period of architectural history. Discussing a rich array of built forms and urban spaces—from grand imperial mosques to Delhi’s bustling thoroughfares—the volume sheds light on long-overlooked buildings.
Hinduism and the Religious Arts
No study of either ancient or contemporary Indian culture can be undertaken without a clear understanding of Hindu visual arts and their sources in religious belief and practice.
Early Chinese Jades in the Harvard Art Museum
Explores the history of jade, including in-depth entries on over one hundred objects.
Arts of Japan
An account of the history of Japanese art which deals with the crafts as well as with the so-called fine arts and carry the story of Japanese art up to the present day
The Art of Contemporary China
This book redefines contemporary Chinese art in the last forty years since the end of China's Cultural Revolution, placing it in the context of unprecedented cultural, political and urban transformation.
Bosch
Courbet
Da Vinci
Dürer
Fra Angelico
Francisco Goya
Hokusai
Michelangelo
Michelangelo: the Artist, the Man, and his Times
Monet
Claude Monet
Rembrandt
Peter Paul Rubens
The Life and Masterworks of J.M.W. Turner
Vermeer and His Time
Cubism
In cubist visual artworks, objects are broken up, analyzed, and re-assembled in an abstracted form -- instead of depicting objects from one viewpoint, the artist depicts the subject from a multitude of viewpoints to represent the subject in a greater context.
Impressionism
Analysing the founding elements of the movement, the author follows, through the works of each of the artists, how the demand for individuality gave rise to modern painting.
Neoclassicism
Neoclassicism is a historical tradition or aesthetic attitude based on the art of Greece and Rome in antiquity.
Nudes
This book is devoted to representations of the nude by great artists from antiquity and the Italian Renaissance to French Impressionism and contemporary art; from Botticelli and Michelangelo to Cézanne, Renoir, Picasso and Botero.
Post-Impressionism
Post-Impressionists extended Impressionism while rejecting its limitations: they continued using vivid colors, thick application of paint, distinctive brush strokes, and real-life subject matter, but they were more inclined to emphasize geometric forms, to distort form for expressive effect, and to use unnatural or arbitrary color.
Rococo
Charts the rise and fall of the Rococo movement, from the beginning of the 18th century to its plunge into obscurity, before being restored to the radiance of its golden age a century later.
Romanticism
Romanticism was a reaction against the Neoclassicism that invaded the nineteenth century, and marked a veritable intellectual rupture.
Surrealism
Surrealist artists delve into the subconscious and revel in juxtapositions of bizarre, unrelated objects. This book introduces the movement's key figures and their works, as well as exploring Surrealism's legacy.
Abstract Art
Traces the origins and evolution of abstract art, placing it in broad cultural context.
The Self Portrait
Investigates seven centuries of self-portraiture and casts fresh light on the international appeal of this genre. Examines the historical contexts within which self-portraits developed, and considers the significance of self-portraiture today.
Byzantine Art
Endowed with the rich heritage of Roman, Eastern and Christian cultures, Byzantine artists developed an architectural and pictorial tradition, marked by symbolism, whose influence extended far beyond the borders of the Empire.
Early Christian and Byzantine Art
This book presents an appreciation of early Christian and Byzantine Art as a sublime expression of religious thought and feeling.
Christian Art : A Very Short Introduction
Explores the changing nature of the representation of key themes and subjects found in Christian art, covering the Eucharist, the crucifixion, the Virgin Mary, and the saints.
Byzantine Art
Mostly religious in function, but preserving the classicism of Greco-Roman art, Byzantine buildings and art objects communicate the purity and certainties of the public face of early Christian art.
Christ in Art
The Biblical Saviour is not a static, immaterial deity: Christ's mortal birth, unusual life and dramatic death make him an accessible subject for religious and secular artists alike. Whether they show the spirituality of God Incarnate or the earthly characteristics of a flesh-and-blood man.
Understanding Early Christian Art
Understanding Early Christian Art offers an insightful, erudite, and lavishly illustrated analysis of the meaning and message of early Christianity as revealed in the texts and images of the early Christians.
Gothic Art
Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years.
Experiencing Medieval Art
The author considers functional objects as well as paintings and sculptures; the circumstances, processes, and materials of production; the conflictual relationship between art objects and notions of an ineffable deity; the context surrounding medieval art; and questions of apprehension, aesthetics, and modern presentation.
Medieval Illuminators and Their Methods of Work
This book presents a survey of manuscript illumination throughout Europe from the fourth to the sixteenth century. It discusses the social and historical context of the illuminators' lives and considers their methods of work.
Early Italian Painting
Vacillating between the majesty of the Greco-Byzantine heritage and the modernity forecasted by Giotto, Early Italian painting summarises the first steps that led to the Renaissance.
Sculptural Seeing
Although perspective has long been considered one of the essential developments of Renaissance painting, this provocative new book shifts the usual narrative back centuries, showing that medieval sculptors were already employing knowledge of optical science, geometry, and theories of vision in shaping the beholder’s experience of their work.
Medieval Art
Stylistic and iconographic issues and themes are dealt with clearly, and the author presents medieval art in an aesthetic and social context so that it can be fully understood and appreciated. This book consists of twelve chapters and covers the period from the second to the fifteenth centuries.
A Companion to Medieval Art
Covers reception, formalism, Gregory the Great, pilgrimage art, gender, patronage, marginalized images, the concept of spolia, manuscript illumination, stained glass, Cistercian architecture, art of the crusader states, and more.
Baroque Art
Baroque art was artists' response to the Catholic Church's demand for solemn grandeur following the Council of Trent, and through its monumentality and grandiloquence it seduced the great European courts.
A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art
Presents a comprehensive collection of interdisciplinary essays that address major aspects of European visual arts produced from approximately 1300 to 1700, a period of artistic flourishing that many consider the beginning of modern history.
Baroque
Describes the essential characteristics of the Baroque which help one to gain an understanding of the style.
A Superb Baroque: Art in Genoa, 1600 - 1750
This book features seventy paintings, with choice works by the school's few well-known painters.
The Arts of Africa at the Dallas Museum of Art
This book showcases 110 objects from the Dallas Museum of Art's world-renowned African collection.
African Art
Since the discovery of African art at the end of the nineteenth century during the colonial expositions it has been a limitless source of inspiration for artists who, over time, have perpetually recreated these artworks.
The Power of Gold
Focuses on a dazzling array of adornments and implements used by Asante royals and officials during the 18th century to the present day-providing a deeper understanding of the history, traditions, and visual arts of the Asante people, one of the thriving cultures of West Africa.
Traditional African Art
This illustrated study of traditional African art includes pieces from Western Sudan, the Congolese Basin, the Guinea coast, Gabon, the Democratic Republic of Congo and East and South Africa.
Yoruba art and language : seeking the African in African art
Offers new insights into Yoruba art and material culture by examining them within the context of the civilization's cultural norms and values and, above all, the Yoruba language.
Egyptian Art
This book introduces some of the most important Egyptian masterpieces, dating from the Old Kingdom during the third millennium BCE through to the Roman Period.
Contemporary African Art
Contemporary African art has grown out of the diverse history and cultural heritage of a continent. This book examines the major themes, developments, and accomplishments in African art of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.