LibGuides: ARTH 100 (History of Art) Course Guide: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

You can use the library website's Main Library Search to find academic articles. Type in the name of your artist, artwork, or related terms (artistic movement, place, time period, etc.). Once your results page opens you can use the filter under the search bar to search "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" only.

You can also search specific databases, which will give you fewer results but are often more focused so you don't have to hunt through lots of unrelated results. The three best databases for Art research are listed below.

Useful Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
The largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primary sources, and eBooks across a wide range of subject areas, including art.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
An authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press developed this innovative site to provide greater access to and discoverability of recent, key backlist, and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. It is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts, and includes links to art images from private galleries and museums around the world.
Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
"Critical Collective is an initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha. Critical Collective works towards building knowledge in the arts in India." -- Critical Collective website

Has your instructor told you to use the library's databases to find sources for your paper?

Our databases provide you with access to thousands of articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.

NEIU Ronald Williams Library. (2013, Sep 17). What are the library databases and which one should I use? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/fgwloQ5b0xw