Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome! Welcome to the Psychology guide.This page provides quick access to important resources. Use the tabs at the top of the page to find more information on finding and using sources.
Writing & Citing
Search tips: EBSCO Databases
University of British Columbia. (2015, July 15). Academic Search Complete. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com /watch?v= EEdCwq9H0LM.
Top Picks: Background Information
Encyclopedia of Abnormal Psychology
Encyclopedia of Psychology Research
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Top Picks: Scholarly Articles
Provides access to peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association.
Indexes literature in psychology, and provides some full-text access.
PubMed includes articles from biomedical journals, including some focused on psychology. Some articles provide free full-text access, while others only provide abstracts.
Academic Search Complete
This database provides access to peer-reviewed scholarly articles from journals on a wide-variety of topics, including psychology.
Frequently Asked Questions
+ Q: What is a "scholarly" or "academic" source?
The words scholarly and academic are often used interchangeably. Academic sources:
Are written by academics who are considered experts on a topic
Intended for other experts to read
Based on original research
Provide citations for all sources used
Are usually peer-reviewed by other experts on the topic before being published
To learn more, check out the
Find Articles page on this tutorial.
+ Q: How can I tell if a book is a scholarly source?
Look for these clues:
References provided at the end of chapters or the end of the book
References used are academic sources. Look to see that journals and books are cited rather than popular websites and magazines.
Uses language that is specific to the discipline. Does it appear that the authors intended their work to be read by other experts? If so, it may be an academic source.
Expert author with credentials provided. Check the back of the book for information about the author.
Published by a University press or professional organization
+ Q: I can't find any sources in the library's database!
Make sure you are using
keywords to search If your first search doesn't get useful results, try replacing your keywords with synonyms
Make sure you are using formal language as keywords
Find Articles page for more help
If you're still stuck, come see a librarian for more help!
+ Q: How do I cite a website?
These websites & guides may be useful:
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Columbia College Library Hours
8:30 am - 7:00 pm
8:30 am - 6:00 pm
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Sundays & Statutory Holidays
604-683-8360 ext. 253