Students will be introduced to and critically examine neurophysiological, bio-genetic, psychiatric, and psychological explanations of deviant and criminal behavior. They will pay special attention to research that explores associations between criminality and genetics, brain chemistry, the endocrine system, mental disorders, personality, moral development, and various forms of social learning.
Contains full-text and bibliographic records of leading journals in criminology and criminal justice. Includes academic journals, magazines, books and trade publications.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database provides access to Canadian academic journals, newspapers, magazines and reports on topics ranging from business, current events, public policy, health, culture, and more.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journals, full-text periodicals, reports, videos, and more. One of the most comprehensive or all-inclusive databases, containing the broadest range of subjects.
Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Your instructor may assign streaming media throughout the term. To access material from the Criterion Collection or Kanopy, simply open our library catalogue and search for the title of the assigned film.
Please Note: You will need to make sure you are logged in through Columbia College in order to access videos.
Visit the Vancouver Police Museum to learn more about the history of crime and policing in Vancouver and British Columbia. The Vancouver Police Museum has a physical archive collection. Access is available by appointment.
To learn more about the archive collection and book an appointment, visit the Vancouver Police Museum Archives website.
