Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About ART21 Season 8: Art in the Twenty-First Century
PBS' Art in the Twenty-First Century reveals how artists engage the culture around them and how art allows viewers to see the world in new ways. Season 8, episode 4 focuses on Vancouver.
Advancing Women Artists
An American not-for-profit organization with 501(c)(3) status committed to identifying and restoring art works by women in Tuscany's museums, churches and storage facilities.
CCCA Canadian Art Database
The CCCA Canadian Art Database Project is a work in progress. With the overall objective of broadening public awareness of contemporary Canadian Art in Canada and abroad, the CCCA is documenting the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers and curators, as well as some important Canadian art institutions and organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s.
Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
This database is intended to provide a research tool that brings together the growing body of literature about women artists who worked in Canada and who were born before 1925.
Google Cultural Institute: Arts & Culture
Contains more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works, contributed by museums and galleries around the world.
The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the website: "The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection."
National Gallery of Canada
The National Gallery of Canada's online collections include biographies of Canadian artists and digitized images of their work.
Online Image Collections
The following sites provide free access to digitized images of artworks. While you are allowed to reuse the images for assignments, be sure to cite any images you use.
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
A collection of images related to art and architecture that are in the public domain. Includes images from ancient and modern times.
Getty Open Content Images
A collection of over 100,000 images related to art, that are either in the public domain or to which Getty owns the rights. All images are available for free and for reuse.