Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCI 250: Course Guide (Veronica): Start Here

Welcome! 

Welcome to the SOCI 230 course guide for Veronica Alfaro's class. This page provides quick access to important resources. Use the tabs at the top of the page to find more information on finding and using sources.

Database Search Tips: Video

Need a refresher on database searching? The video below provides tips on searching in Academic Search Complete but the strategies shown can also be used on the library's homepage and many other databases. 

University of British Columbia. (2015, July 15). Academic Search Complete. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEdCwq9H0LM.

Chat loading...
Columbia College Library Hours
Monday-Thursday 8:30 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Sundays & Statutory Holidays Closed
604-683-8360 ext. 253
library@columbiacollege.ca

Resources to Help with Research

Citing your sources guides Writing tips link Choosing sources

Find Books, Articles & News: Search the Library

 

Top Picks: Academic Articles

Top Picks: News Articles

Both database below are ProQuest databases, so they look a bit different from the EBSCOhost databases you might be used to searching. To help familiarize yourself with Canadian Major Dailies & CBCA, check out Proquest's help guide.

Screenshot of the CBCA Proquest database

Top Picks: Statistics 

screenshot from the statista database

Statista is a great source of statistics related to consumers, employment, and businesses. Search statista using a few keywords related to your topic. Access Statista below: