It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 202: Course Guide: Find Articles
This guide is intended to help students in HIST 202 find, use and cite primary and secondary sources for their research.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database provides access to Canadian academic journals, newspapers, magazines and reports on topics ranging from business, current events, public policy, health, culture, and more.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journals, full-text periodicals, reports, videos, and more. One of the most comprehensive or all-inclusive databases, containing the broadest range of subjects.
Remember that you will need to use keywords, not full sentences, when searching the databases
Start out simple. Search using one of the main concepts (keywords) you identified
Use quotation marksto search for an exact phrase, but do not put quotation marks around your entire search.
If you get too few results, use OR to broaden your search and to include related keywords. These could be broader, narrower, related terms or synonyms
If you still get too few results, try searching in a different database
If you get too many results, you will need to add in keywords representing your second concept using AND to narrow your search.
Video: What is a database?
Has your instructor told you to use the library's databases to find sources for your paper?
Our databases provide you with access to thousands of articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
NEIU Ronald Williams Library. (2013, Sep 17). What are the library databases and which one should I use? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/fgwloQ5b0xw
Video: Academic Search Complete
Watch the video below to learn how to search Academic Search Complete.
University of British Columbia. (2015, July 15). Academic Search Complete. [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEdCwq9H0LM.