CRIM 203 (Historical Perspectives in Criminal Justice) Course Guide: Primary Sources (Including Newspapers)

Collection includes archival descriptions of government and private records in various formats, including cartographic, visual, moving images, sound recordings and texts.

This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia.

The Digitized Okanagan History (D.O.H.) collection features copies of unique historical documents from participating memory institutions located throughout British Columbia’s Okanagan Valley. D.O.H. includes digitized copies of primary source materials such as photographs, documents and published materials.

Select the Resources tab to find Government of BC regulations, conservation guides, green reports, Heritage BC Quarterlies and other resources, such as First Peoples' Heritage and cultural maps.

Principally concerned with the history of Vancouver Island in British Columbia, but is also a vehicle for exploring broader themes in Canadian history during the 19th and early part of the 20th centuries.

A collection of thousands of original drawings published in Canadian newspapers between 1952 and the present.

A collection of digitized documents (books, reports, poetry, and plays), photographs, videos and audio related to the incident, as well as Professor Hugh Johnston’s book The Voyage of the Komagata Maru : The Sikh Challenge to Canada's Colour Bar in English and Punjabi with links to digitized materials.

Spanning over a century, the museum collections and archives explore the history of Vancouver through the eyes of policing and criminal investigation. The artefacts database includes police equipment and items confiscated by the VPD.

The official website of the VPD

The official website of the RCMP

Provides engaging, high-quality materials to schools and universities for the teaching of historical methods and Canadian History.

Collection contains books, newspapers, images, postcards, maps and other materials related to the development of the Prairies. Some materials are also available in French, Ukrainian, and other languages.

A Saskatchewan archival initiative including presentations to the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples.

Over 5000 radio and television clips, updated weekly.

Collection focused on New France and includes archival documents arranged under 12 themes: departure (the circumstances upon leaving), navigation (the crossing), discovery (the exploration of new territories), encounter (contact with Aboriginal peoples); settlement (the seigneurial system); foundation (the establishment of towns and forts); daily life (everyday life in the colony); administration (the institutions); trade (the economy); worship (the role of the Church); warfare (armed conflict) and survival (the changeover of European control, the deportation of the Acadians, and the English conquest).

Comprehensive online collection of primary sources of Nova Scotia. Collection includes letters, photographs, maps, propaganda posters, post cards and other historical documents on topics such as first world war, Acadians, African Nova Scotians, Bluenose, people of Nova Scotia, statistics, the Halifax explosion and much more.

The Saskatchewan News Index contains historical news stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers from 1884 to the 2004. You can request copies from your public library.

A Nation's Chronicle: The Canada Gazette. Often referred to as "the official newspaper of the Government of Canada," the Canada Gazette has been an important instrument in the Canadian democratic process for more than 160 years. The database comprises images taken from microfilm, microfiche and rare original copies of the Gazette held by Library and Archives Canada.

The official Canadian government newspaper.

Complete collection available in full text.

This digital archive contains the original correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia.