It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the SOCI 230 course guide for Veronica Alfaro's class. This page provides quick access to important resources. Use the tabs at the top of the page to find more information on finding and using sources.
Using Sources: The BEAM Method
Monday - Thursday
8:30 am - 7 pm
Friday - Saturday
8:30 am - 5 pm
Sundays and Statutory Holidays
604-683-8360 ext. 253
Ask a question by email or make an appointment to talk to a librarian on teams.
Notes on Finding Academic Articles with the Library Main Search
Academic articles are written by experts and published in specialized journals. Many academic journals are "peer reviewed": articles are only accepted after approval by several other experts. Here are some essential steps for choosing appropriate articles for your assignment:
1. After you do a keyword search, click the "Peer Reviewed" button above the list of sources and below the search box.
2. Use simple keywords, and be prepared to try different keywords and combinations of them. Researchers rarely enter the best keywords in the first search they do.
3. Assess sources for usefulness by clicking the title and reading the abstract. Choosing sources thoughtfully - the first result you see is often not the best. Sometimes it may be completely off-topic!
Top Picks: Academic Article Databases
*Note: Make sure you click the limiter for peer-reviewed journal articles (also called "scholarly" or "academic journals). All of these databases contain a mix of academic and other sources (eg news, magazine articles, book reviews, etc.).
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journals, full-text periodicals, reports, videos, and more. One of the most comprehensive or all-inclusive databases, containing the broadest range of subjects.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database provides access to Canadian academic journals, newspapers, magazines and reports on topics ranging from business, current events, public policy, health, culture, and more.
Provides access to scholarly journals, primary sources, and eBooks across a wide range of subject areas.
Top Picks: News Articles
Both database below are ProQuest databases, so they look a bit different from the EBSCOhost databases you might be used to searching. To help familiarize yourself with Canadian Major Dailies & CBCA, check out Proquest's help guide.
This toolkit will help familiarize you with the Census and key sources of data and other information. Shows topics covered by the 2021 Census, examples of research involving Census data, and reference tools and sources for your next research project.