Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Check out our Plagiarism Tutorial to learn more about using sources in your assignments.
Citation Style Guides
MLA (8th ed) Citation Guide
The following guide was created by Leslie Mercer and provides examples of how to use MLA 8th edition to cite sources of various formats.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: 808.027 MLA 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
The links below are for the 7th edition of the MLA style guide, which is now out of date. Be sure to confirm with your instructor whether they would like you to use the 7th or 8th edition.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: 808.06615 AME 2020
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
APA Style Site
The official website from the American Psychological Association.
Bales, Kevin. Blood and Earth: Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World. Spiegel & Grau, 2016.
||Blood and Earth: Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World
||Spiegel & Grau
|Date of publication:
Clues that this citation is for an entire book:
- Contains only one title
- Includes the name of a publishing company: Spiegel & Grau
Aydarova, O. (2015). Global discourses and local responses: A dialogic perspective on educational reforms in the Russian Federation. European Education, 47(4), 331-345. doi:10.1080/10564934.2015.1107375
||Global discourses and local responses: A dialogic perspective on educational reforms in the Russian Federation
|Volume & Issue
||47(4) - Volume 47, Issue 4
Clues that this is a journal article:
- Contains the title of the article, sometimes in quotation marks, depending on the citation style.
- Contains another title, the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine in which the article appears, often underlined or in italics: European Education
- Contains a volume and, sometimes, an issue number: 45. 1, or 45(1)
- The date is sometimes a year, sometimes month and year, sometimes season (example: Spring) and year.
- Contains page numbers
- Online articles often have a unique doi, or digital object identifier
Authier, P. (2016, Nov 02). Quebec tightens rules for spying on journalists; press freedom is fundamental, premier says. The Vancouver Sun. Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1835481852?accountid=132048
||November 2, 2016
||Quebec tightens rules for spying on journalists; press freedom is fundamental, premier says
|Title of newspaper
||The Vancouver Sun
Clues that this is a newspaper article:
- Like journal articles, it contains both the title of the article and the title of the publication. In some citation styles, the title of the article appears in quotation marks.
- Unlike journal articles, the date includes the month and day in addition to the year
- Some include section numbers as part of the page numbers (e.g. A6, B4)