Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 100 (History of Art) Course Guide: Library eBooks

This guide will help you find books, articles, and websites on art history. The guide was created to support students in Art 100.

Books on Individual Artists

Bosch

Botticelli

Courbet

Leonardo Da Vinci

Dürer

Fra Angelico

Francisco Goya

Hokusai

Michelangelo

Michelangelo: the Artist, the Man, and his Times

Monet

Claude Monet

Harmensz Van Rijn Rembrandt

Peter Paul Rubens

The Life and Masterworks of J.M.W. Turner

Vermeer and His Time

Asian Art

Chinese Art

Dealing not only with architecture, sculpture, and painting, but also with bronze and ceramics, this text offers a complete panorama of Chinese arts and civilisation.

Art of India

Characterised by its elegance, splendor, and Persian and European influences, Mughal Art manifests itself equally well in architecture and painting as in decorative art.

Early Buddhist Art of China and Central Asia

Presenting new studies on the chronology and iconography of Buddhist art during the Western Ch'in (385-431 A.D.) in northwest China, including Ping-ling ssu and Mai-chi shan, this book addresses issues of dating, textual sources, the five-Buddhas, and relation with Gandhara.

Central Asian Art

A tour through Central Asia - Khirgizia, Tadjikistan, Turkmenia, and Uzbekistan - a cradle of Ancient civilisations and a repository of the Oriental arts inspired by Buddhism and Islam.

The History and Spirit of Chinese Art

Moves through the dynastic landmarks of Chinese artistic development with discussions of numerous art forms including paintings, architecture, dance and music, calligraphy, and literature.

Faith and Power in Japanese Buddhist Art, 1600-2005

Explores the transformation of Buddhism from the premodern to the contemporary era in Japan and the central role its visual culture has played in this transformation.

Hinduism and the Religious Arts

No study of either ancient or contemporary Indian culture can be undertaken without a clear understanding of Hindu visual arts and their sources in religious belief and practice.

Arts of Japan

An account of the history of Japanese art which deals with the crafts as well as with the so-called fine arts and carry the story of Japanese art up to the present day

Christian and Byzantine Art

Byzantine Art

Endowed with the rich heritage of Roman, Eastern and Christian cultures, Byzantine artists developed an architectural and pictorial tradition, marked by symbolism, whose influence extended far beyond the borders of the Empire.

Christian Art : A Very Short Introduction

Explores the changing nature of the representation of key themes and subjects found in Christian art, covering the Eucharist, the crucifixion, the Virgin Mary, and the saints.

Byzantine Art

Mostly religious in function, but preserving the classicism of Greco-Roman art, Byzantine buildings and art objects communicate the purity and certainties of the public face of early Christian art.

Christ in Art

The Biblical Saviour is not a static, immaterial deity: Christ's mortal birth, unusual life and dramatic death make him an accessible subject for religious and secular artists alike. Whether they show the spirituality of God Incarnate or the earthly characteristics of a flesh-and-blood man.

Understanding Early Christian Art

Understanding Early Christian Art offers an insightful, erudite, and lavishly illustrated analysis of the meaning and message of early Christianity as revealed in the texts and images of the early Christians.

Medieval and Gothic Art

Gothic Art

Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years.

Experiencing Medieval Art

The author considers functional objects as well as paintings and sculptures; the circumstances, processes, and materials of production; the conflictual relationship between art objects and notions of an ineffable deity; the context surrounding medieval art; and questions of apprehension, aesthetics, and modern presentation.

Early Italian Painting

Vacillating between the majesty of the Greco-Byzantine heritage and the modernity forecasted by Giotto, Early Italian painting summarises the first steps that led to the Renaissance.

Medieval Art

Stylistic and iconographic issues and themes are dealt with clearly, and the author presents medieval art in an aesthetic and social context so that it can be fully understood and appreciated. This book consists of twelve chapters and covers the period from the second to the fifteenth centuries.

A Companion to Medieval Art

Covers reception, formalism, Gregory the Great, pilgrimage art, gender, patronage, marginalized images, the concept of spolia, manuscript illumination, stained glass, Cistercian architecture, art of the crusader states, and more.

African Art

African Art

Since the discovery of African art at the end of the nineteenth century during the colonial expositions it has been a limitless source of inspiration for artists who, over time, have perpetually recreated these artworks.

Traditional African Art

This illustrated study of traditional African art includes pieces from Western Sudan, the Congolese Basin, the Guinea coast, Gabon, the Democratic Republic of Congo and East and South Africa.

Yoruba art and language : seeking the African in African art

Offers new insights into Yoruba art and material culture by examining them within the context of the civilization's cultural norms and values and, above all, the Yoruba language.

Baroque Art

Baroque Art

Baroque art was artists' response to the Catholic Church's demand for solemn grandeur following the Council of Trent, and through its monumentality and grandiloquence it seduced the great European courts.

A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art

Presents a comprehensive collection of interdisciplinary essays that address major aspects of European visual arts produced from approximately 1300 to 1700, a period of artistic flourishing that many consider the beginning of modern history.

Baroque

Describes the essential characteristics of the Baroque which help one to gain an understanding of the style.

Islamic Art

Art of Islam

Multicultural and multi-ethnical, this polymorphic and highly spiritual art, in which all representation of Man and God were prohibited, developed canons and various motives of great decorative value.

Islamic Art and Architecture

Traces the development of Islamic art and architecture from the Umayyad dynasty to the present day. Readers will learn about the art of the Fatimids, Seljuqs, Mamluks, Mongols, Ottomans, Safavids, Mughals, and more.

Envisioning Islamic Art and Architecture : Essays in Honor of Renata Holod

A collection of studies on the portable arts, arts of the book, painting, photography, and architecture spanning the medieval and modern periods and across the historical Islamic lands.

Perspectives on early Islamic art in Jerusalem

Analyzes early Islamic monuments on the Haram al-Sharif, or the Temple Mount: the Dome of the Chain, and the capitals with figures of eagles in the Dome of the Rock.

Islamic Arts and Crafts: an Anthology

Explores numerous aspects of the crafts of the Middle East from the processing of raw materials to the manufacture of finished artefacts.

The shaping of Persian art

While the impact of the Persian style is undeniably reflected in most aspects of the art and architecture of Islamic Central Asia, this Perso-Central Asian connection was chiefly formed and articulated by the Euro-American movement of collecting and interpreting the art and material culture of the Persian Islamic world in modern times.

The Origins of Visual Culture in the Islamic World

Focusing on painting and architectural works such as the first Fatimid mosque in al-Mahdiyya, Tunisia.

Renaissance Art

Italian Renaissance Art

The author presents the most important and innovative artists and their principal works, with a clear emphasis on selectivity and understanding. Italian Renaissance Art also focuses on style and iconography, and on art and artists, incorporating different methodological approaches to create a wider understanding and appreciation of the art.

Renaissance Art: a Very Short Introduction

Provides a broad cultural-historical context for some of the Renaissance's most famous artists and works of art.

Renaissance Art

Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, and supported by illustrations including color plates, the author explores the truly original and diverse character of the art of the Renaissance.

Italian Renaissance Art: Understanding its Meaning

Traces the development of art and architecture throughout the Italian peninsula in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries.

The New Art of the Fifteenth Century

A synthesis of the early Renaissance, considering Florentine and Netherlandish art as a single phenomenon resulting from a shared Christian culture.

Renaissance Art in Venice

In the Renaissance period, art and architecture in Venice reached a kind of apotheosis when many of the city's new buildings, sculptures, and paintings took on distinctive and original qualities.

The Renaissance

A collection of essays discussing the achievements of Botticelli, Leonardo, Michelangelo, and other artists.

European Art and the Wider World 1350-1550

Reexamines the field of Renaissance art history by exploring the art of this era in the light of global connections. It considers the movement of objects, ideas and technologies and its significance for European art and material culture, analysing images through the lens of cultural encounter and conflict.

A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art

Presents a comprehensive collection of interdisciplinary essays that address major aspects of European visual arts produced from approximately 1300 to 1700, a period of artistic flourishing that many consider the beginning of modern history.

The Renaissance Artist at Work

Tells how the artists learned their craft, the organization of their workshops, and the guilds they belonged to; how their customers or patrons treated them and where their work was displayed-churches, civic buildings, or private homes.

Northern Renaissance Art

This book offers a wide-ranging introduction to the way that art was made, valued, and viewed in northern Europe in the age of the Renaissance, from the late fourteenth to the early years of the sixteenth century.

Miscellaneous Art Movements and Styles

Art in History, 600 BC - 2000 AD

Takes the reader on an extraordinary trip through art, from devotional works to the revolutionary techniques of the Renaissance, from the courtly Masters of the seventeenth century through to the daring avant-garde of the twentieth century and beyond.

Cubism

In cubist visual artworks, objects are broken up, analyzed, and re-assembled in an abstracted form -- instead of depicting objects from one viewpoint, the artist depicts the subject from a multitude of viewpoints to represent the subject in a greater context.

A History of Greek Art

Explores the rich historical, cultural, and social contexts of 3,000 years of Greek art, from the Bronze Age through the Hellenistic period.

Impressionism

Analysing the founding elements of the movement, the author follows, through the works of each of the artists, how the demand for individuality gave rise to modern painting.

Neoclassicism

Neoclassicism is a historical tradition or aesthetic attitude based on the art of Greece and Rome in antiquity.

Nudes

This book is devoted to representations of the nude by great artists from antiquity and the Italian Renaissance to French Impressionism and contemporary art; from Botticelli and Michelangelo to CeĢzanne, Renoir, Picasso and Botero.

Post-Impressionism

Post-Impressionists extended Impressionism while rejecting its limitations: they continued using vivid colors, thick application of paint, distinctive brush strokes, and real-life subject matter, but they were more inclined to emphasize geometric forms, to distort form for expressive effect, and to use unnatural or arbitrary color.

Rococo

Charts the rise and fall of the Rococo movement, from the beginning of the 18th century to its plunge into obscurity, before being restored to the radiance of its golden age a century later.

A History of Roman Art

A wide-ranging survey of the subject from the founding of Rome to the rule of Rome's first Christian emperor, Constantine.

Romanticism

Romanticism was a reaction against the Neoclassicism that invaded the nineteenth century, and marked a veritable intellectual rupture.

Art of the 20th Century

Showcases all of the key artistic movements of the 20th century, from Fauvism to Pop Art.