A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
2021 Census Postsecondary Research Kit This link opens in a new window
New
This toolkit will help familiarize you with the Census and key sources of data and other information. Shows topics covered by the 2021 Census, examples of research involving Census data, and reference tools and sources for your next research project.
New
Developed with First Nations University of Canada, this online course assists our college in meeting the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's 94 Calls to Action. It is designed for both students and staff.

Please complete the registration form to register yourself for the online course. A copy of your response will be sent to the 4 Seasons of Reconciliation course registration team and you will be emailed a confirmation of receipt.

Learner registrations/enrollments occur weekly on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Please allow 48 hours for your registration to be added to the next batch of enrollments to occur at the next scheduled time. You will then receive an email with a link to create a password and begin the course.

You can log back into the course at https://learn.reconciliationeducation.ca/
4 Seasons of Reconciliation - High School This link opens in a new window
New
*Note for high school instructors*: access the instructor portal via Sharepoint
https://columbiacollegeca.sharepoint.com/sites/Intranet/Library/SitePages/Services-for-Instructors.aspx#social-justice-teaching-resources

A teaching and learning resource created by Indigenous educators at the First Nations University of Canada. Includes 5 lessons of 75 minutes each, which can be taught in-class, assigned as homework, or used for a combination of the two. The portal does not record individual student completion. To record grades or completion, instructors may want to ask students to screenshot or photograph their quiz results and submit the image.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
New
America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes hundreds of full-text history journals, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
New
Contains over 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877, including a large number of newspapers.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) A&AePortal
An authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press developed this innovative site to provide greater access to and discoverability of recent, key backlist, and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
New
Journal articles in diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 40 different countries.
Canada Commons: Books and Documents This link opens in a new window
New
Rare, hard-to-find content from Canada that’s relevant to a wide range of studies including sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Find over 22,000 e-books from scholarly and independent publishers and 250,000 public policy papers from think tanks and other policy organizations.
Canada Commons: Government This link opens in a new window
New
A collection of over 1 million publications from more than 500 unique government sources. Federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal reports of research value—as well as literature from major political parties—are made discoverable in a single site.
Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
New
"Critical Collective is an initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha. Critical Collective works towards building knowledge in the arts in India." -- Critical Collective website
Curio This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) CBC
"Curio.ca gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!" - description from curio
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
New
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
The settling of vast areas of the world by Europeans has left a particular and lasting influence on history. Frontier Life captures the experiences of people living on the edge of European settlement across the frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Through a huge array of digitised primary source materials, it documents the relationships and interaction between new arrivals and indigenous peoples, and the results of these encounters: the creation of new states and trade networks, internal migration, and the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
New
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is the definitive full-text database covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
History Commons: British Society, 1939-1951 This link opens in a new window
New
Sourced from the National Archives (UK) and the History of Advertising Trust, British Society, 1939-1951 includes previously undigitized files from eleven government departments, with associated adverts and propaganda. It documents stories told through the eyes and words of women, children, refugees, and other groups often underrepresented in historical accounts. Covering topics including food, morale, crime, and economic hardships, the documents present voices from the top of government alongside the narratives and testimonies of ordinary citizens.
New
Cold War Eastern Europe, sourced exclusively from The National Archives (UK), lets us look into the workings of every country in the Eastern Bloc during the post-Stalin era, through thousands of English-language insights written in the first person by officials of the time. Read the British Foreign Office’s reporting on state leadership, party politics, protest movements, agricultural output, international trade agreements, scientific progress, minority populations, state-run media, and popular culture behind The Iron Curtain.
New
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War contains British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1936 to 1953, with a focus on World War II. Sourced from the National Archives (UK) and available electronically for the first time. Explore secret intelligence files from four key 20th-century conflicts—the Spanish Civil War, World War II, the early years of the Cold War, and the Korean War.
History Commons: Weimar and Nazi Germany This link opens in a new window
New
Weimar and Nazi Germany documents an intense time of hyperinflation, political extremism, and seizures of power. It details the aftermath of World War I, recovery following the war, the Great Depression, and Hitler’s rise, providing contemporaneous accounts, documents, reports, and correspondence of how Western democracies struggled with fascism and autocracy.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
New
Stream films, documentaries, and educational videos. Contact the library for login information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
New
Statista provides access to over 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics, as well as industry reports, market studies and consumer surveys.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...